Skincare Review: Avene Eluage Creme Cream (Anti-Ageing)

Here’s another Avene product that I’ve been using for the past year or so.

The Avene Eluage Cream or Creme for Anti-Ageing.

The Avene Eluage Cream comes in a 30ml airless pump plastic bottle and retails at SGD$91.30 when purchased as a standalone item.

For night usage only

This is marketed as an anti-ageing product and the active ingredients are actually:

  • Retinaldehyde (0.05%)
    – Smoothes away fine lines and wrinkles, improves skin’s radiance
  • HAF (0.5%)
    – Aids in plumping and firming the skin

HAF here stands for Hyaluronic Acid Fragments, which is a patented ingredient of Avene, so not quite the same formulation as the 1001 bottles of hyaluronic acid essences, tonics, serums, creams and gels that have flooded the market and the drugstore shelves.

This is supposed to help with:

  • Loss of firmness
  • Deep visible lines and wrinkles
  • Photo damaged skin

As Eluage contains retinal (retinoid), this is strictly for PM usage. While you’re on Eluage, please ensure that you have on a proper AND stable sunscreen with good SPF/UVA/UVB/PPD whatever rated protection in the daytime.

1 pump of this dispenses an amount that, when used sparingly, actually covers my entire face, including my undereye area.  Another pump covers my neck and decollete. While a new Avene Eluage Eye Contour Cream has been released, I don’t feel there’s a need to get that separately, since I’m already using the Eluage anyway. Furthermore, my skin tolerates the Eluage Cream well with its 0.05% Retinaldehyde. The Avene Eluage Eye Contour Cream contains only 0.015% Retinaldehyde, which is a gentler formula for those that have more sensitive skin.

The Avene Eluage Cream is tinted yellow and fragranced. The perfume is stronger than the Avene Eluage Gel Concentrate, but doesn’t disturb me. It’s quite a generic skincare fragrance to me. Note that the tint can stain, so no white pillow cases please.

Although it’s not a thick, creamy cream (duh), it is certainly very emollient and leaves a sheen after rubbing it in. But since it’s an item for night usage, I’m perfectly fine with the finish, though I tend to dab at my face lightly with a piece of tissue paper when I feel it’s too oily.

Bundle Pack at $91.70

As mentioned above, the price of a 30 ml Avene Eluage Cream is at SGD$91.70 at Guardian’s. Very prohibitive for a drugstore item and around a 180 – 200% markup over its retail price in Europe. However, the distributor usually has bundle packs – where a 15 ml tube of Avene Eluage Gel Concentrate coupled with the 30 ml bottle of Avene Eluage cream go together at $91.70, which works out to about $46 per item, which is a much more sensible price to pay.

With retinoids, the key to seeing results is TIME, anything from 6 months to over 1 year. I’m using this more as a preventive skincare item rather than any serious wrinkle treatment. While this has not eradicated my fine lines, it has certainly smoothened my forehead and undereye area. I currently use this every alternate night and stop using it for a week before and a week after a suntanning/water sports trip.

Rating out of 10
Price: 7 (Purchased as a bundle pack, which makes the price more palatable)
Quality: 8 (Remove the fragrance and thin out the texture, my 2 suggestions)
Packaging: 10 (Hygienic and easy pump dispenser)
Ease of usage: 8 (The yellow stains finger nails so some care in washing this off is required. Also, you’ll need to have on sunscreen in the day.)
Overall score: 8.25
 
~*Item reviewed purchased by me*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Anti-Ageing, Avene, Skincare and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment