Sunscreen Review: Korres SPF 50 Sunscreen Face Cream Yoghurt

Who’d have thought, yoghurt in my sunscreen too? I Love yoghurt, especially plain yoghurt European style (thick) with Dr Oetker’s chocolate muesli. Or Emmi yoghurt to make my fruit smoothies.

But yoghurt in a sunscreen? Korres’ Sunscreen Face Cream Yoghurt with SPF 50 protection?

This is an avobenzone-free sunscreen which means yes, it’s compatible with your SPF makeup. Contains titanium dioxide too, in addition to EHM as the UV ray blockers, at least what I recognise. Nourishing stuff good for your skin include Jojoba seed oil, Alpha Tocopherol (vitamin E), Ascorbyl Palmitate (which is a form of Vitamin C), botanical extracts, honey and yes, yoghurt as the last ingredient. Note that perfume is one of the ingredients listed and the perfume is… eau de Yoghurt. To bring home the point of yoghurt in the sunscreen. *shrug*. no entiendo nada a veces. I’d much prefer unfragranced sunscreens, much as I love my perfumes from Etsy and other Indie perfumers. Literally too “in-the-face”.

Korres is a Greek brand known for its adherence to the green-er or more natural principles in skincare. It’s not a high-end label in Greece at all. But, in good ol’ Singapore, this tube of sunscreen retails at the Korres store for SGD$61 (approx. USD$50). From the Greek website that I bought this from? Just 15 euros (SGD$27, approx. USD$22). Can we say… ripoff much? Besides, there was a one-for-one deal so the price for 1 was really just 7.50 euros and the 10 euro shipping got me 6 tubes 😀 (I’m not going to disclose which website because I don’t want the local Korres franchise here to reach some agreement with the Greek Korres or whatever to restrict the import of these items to Singapore, which was pretty much the way ELF went.)

Some advice to heed. As with all chemical sunscreens, they need time for the filters to be absorbed before they start to block. Unlike physical sunscreens where the protective barrier is on the skin, not within.

Made in Greece with Edible Organic Yoghurt but no this does not make the sunscreen edible. So I’m not sure what’s the relevance of that. But it’s water and sweat resistant, so double cleansing (especially with an oil cleanser) is most highly recommended.

It’s an off-white shade and very, very emollient, creamy in feel. It does feel just like yoghurt, not too viscous in consistency.

There is a very obvious initial white cast to it. Some effort and time is also required to massage this well into your skin. I’d advise skipping any serums or hydrators (except for toners or spritz) before using this sunscreen as it is sufficiently hydrating on its own, with antioxidants like honey in it. There is no alcohol in this sunscreen, which also explains why it needs more time and more massaging for it to be absorbed.

That’s the finish of it when well massaged in. A slightly glistening sheen. Which pairs very well with mineral foundation as the latter tends towards dryness. The sunscreen kept my face moisturised very well in my office from 9 – 6 and my makeup did not cake up, which it does sometimes when it’s just too dry. I’d highly recommend this for very dry or dehydrated skin. Just don’t pay Singapore retail prices for it, please.

Yes, it's more than 10 euros but I wasn't made to top up postage

Greek stamps from my first Greek purchase 😀

~*Item reviewed purchased by me*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Korres, Sunscreen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunscreen Review: Korres SPF 50 Sunscreen Face Cream Yoghurt

  1. princesagr says:

    Being Greek myself, I was suprised even with the American prizes of Korres, who were almost doubled for a lipgloss. However, the 60$ is Ripoff!!! And yes, its not considered high end in here. It has a good reputation, of being green and stuff, but not high end…

  2. maiimae says:

    Hi there, thanks so much for reviewing this! I’m thinking of buying it myself in the 30SPF, but I wanted to confirm or correct that titanium dioxide is classified as an inorganic physical blocker right?
    While doing some sunscreen research I’ve also come across articles on nanoparticles in sunscreen and wondered as a consumer what might be your stance on them?

Leave a Reply

