First Impressions: Tiny Tidings @ Haus of Gloi – Litchi Milk Tea, Odette & Depravity

You US ladies are SSSSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO lucky with the plethora of Indie perfumers located in the US. Which means cheaper domestic shipping and boundless options to sample around! When you’re an international customer, this means you have to watch your shipping fees (which add up) and I can’t buy as many to sample from from as many Indie perfumers as I’d like.

Here’s my introductory purchase at the Haus of Gloi.

Odette perfume oil, 5ml, from the Valentine’s Day 2012 collection US$15

Litchi Milk Tea Pumpkin Butter 2 oz sample US$4.50

Free sample of Depravity perfume.

Handwritten thank you note =)

International Shipping – US$5.22 in a small box and ample padding. Very fair.

I had entered a code which I got off a random blog that gave 3 extra samples for first-time customers, but since I didn’t get the extra samples, I’m guessing that code has expired 😦

The Litchi Milk Tea fragrance was something I’d always wanted to sample, but was hesitant about. Because of the “splash of coconut milk”. I adore my coconut milk in food and my fresh coconut juice and freshly scrapped flesh. I just detest them in perfumes and any other B&B products. Don’t ask why. It’s just so.

So I settled for the pumpkin butter sample, since I reckon it wouldn’t be too strong a scent and I could use it on the soles of my feet if I didn’t like it.

I’m pretty bowled over by the formulation. This is probably the 2nd best body butter for me after Body Luxe.

The texture looks like yoghurt and the jar comes with a “Sealed for your protection” seal, a welcome gesture and a practical one that prevents spillage. It smells heavenly, of sweet litchi candy and coconut milk, which is pretty evident in the jar.

However, I get more of the Lychee and tea on my skin than the coconut milk. So hurrah! A little goes a long way in using the pumpkin butter, which is richer than their emulsions.

One reason why I like this pumpkin butter 2nd to my Body Luxe? Like my Body Luxe butters, this sinks in hey presto! and without a greasy afterfeel. Yet does the trick of moisturising from within. YAY, I say!

Odette was raved about by Cait on twitter, and I couldn’t help but order. A full sized 15ml perfume oil at that.

Odette is Clean sun dried linens, tuberose, ginger lily and white musk.

I Love it. There’re some days when I just want to smell clean, light and fresh, yet floral and feminine. Odette does the trick. It doesn’t overwhelm and smells primarily of clean linen. And tuberose. The musk and ginger lily are very subtle softer notes. The perfume also stays constant throughout the 4 hours of wear I got out of it, which is a tad weak for a perfume oil, but no matter, since it’s a light sort of fragrance.

Depravity

A bewitching ladies boudoir! Pure corruption: clove, nutmeg lurk amongst the sweetest offerings of coconut, on a bed of rich golden amber, laden with a dusting of sandalwood and spilled wine.

This is a scent I’d never choose for myself because of… coconut, nutmeg and clove, which I don’t like in perfumes. Since this was included as a thank-you freebie, I had to try it nevertheless.

Depravity opens very, very strongly on me. It’s a heady perfume with a sharp tang of spices, not a whiff of coconut but of something very sweet. Think iced wine (which I detest). It’s ultra-feminine and very come hither. Of sex, lies and decadence. Warming up on your skin to reveal the golden amber, wine and a hint of sandalwood for oriental seduction. If you’re into these sorts of scents, Depravity is definitely worth a sample.

Otherwise, please steer clear.

Haus of Gloi is a pleasant discovery and I wasn’t let down by Odette, the raison d’etre of the order, alongside Litchi Milk Tea 🙂

~*Items reviewed purchased by me*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Haus of Gloi, Indie Companies, Perfume & Scents and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

