Skincare Review: Silk Naturals Cucumber Peptide Eye Cream & Lemon Wasabi Blemish Buster

Truth be told, I prefer my skincare products in clean, sanitary tube form rather than jars (take up storage space) or pump bottles (hard to use up the very last bits left, unless you cut it up). Tubes are easy to toss around, don’t take up much space and allows me to use up virtually ALL of the product, minimising wastage.

When Silk Naturals released their newest Cucumber Peptide Eye Cream (US$9.99) and Lemon Wasabi Blemish Buster (US$6.99) in such convenient packaging (10ml tubes) and attractive price-points, they jumped right into my cart, bypassing “order samples”. A confident leap of faith 😛

The Cucumber Peptide Eye Cream claims to:

Cucumber Peptide Eye Cream fights the obvious signs of aging and fatigue.

It contains:

Eyeseryl- helps decrease eye bags, and dark circles
Sepilift- firms skin, increases collagen production, provides anti-oxidant protection
Peptides- increase collagen synthesis
Pumpkin Seed Extract- maintains elasticity
Cucumber distillate- soothes skin
Grapeseed Oil- nourishes skin
Argan Oil- nourishes skin

Ingredients:  Water, Cucumber Extract, Grapeseed Oil, Hydrolyzed Cucurbito Pepo Seedcake, Palmitoyl tripeptide-5, glycerin, Water (and) Acetyl Tetrapeptide-5,  Argan Oil, Sorbitol, Gluconolactone (and) Sodium Benzoate,  Dipalmitoyl hydroxyproline, Dehydroxanthan Gum

Samples are advisable for the eye cream if you have sensitive eyes, owing to the potent ingredients used. While the list looks short, there are tripeptides, Sepilift and Eyeseryl  in there. Stuff that works.

The Lemon Wasabi Blemish Buster (I love how exotic lemon wasabi sounds lol):

Zits happen- and now you don’t need to suffer as much anymore.  Lemon Wasabi Blemish Buster is a 99% natural blend of herbs and vitamins that helps to diminish the redness, kill the bacteria, dissolve the excess oil, and Vitamin C to help it heal.

What’s in it?
Fermented Wasabi Extract- soothes the redness, and it’s anti-bacterial
Vitamin C- immune support and help in healing
Licorice Extract- anti-inflammatory
Lemon Essential Oil (distilled)- anti-bacterial, and dissolves excess oil

The best part is that it smells great!

Ingredients:  Water, Lactobacillus/Wasabia Japonica Root Ferment Extract, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Glycrrhiza glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Gluconoactone and Sodium Benzoate, Sorbitol,  Dehydroxanthan Gum, Panthenol, Green Tea Extract 

Vegan & Gluten Free.  Pregnancy safe- but consult your doctor if you have questions or are high risk.

I purchased this as an inexpensive minor blemish treatment for small-ish zits rather than large cystic ones. So long as this has sufficient antibacterial properties without the tea tree oil scent (which I love but it’s too strong to smell it all the time), I was game to try. For large cystic zits, I rely on my Avene Triacneal (which I’ve reviewed earlier on my blog -> refer to right scrolldown menu to access Avene).

The Cucumber Peptide Eye Cream is an opaque white but applies colourless when massaged in. The cucumber extract really soothes my eye area and it works even better refrigerated. While I don’t exactly have eye circles, I do have puffy eyes sometimes from lack of sleep or just general bad circulation. This noticeably depuffed my eyes. The eye cream also seemed to diffuse my lines almost immediately, a pretty decent eye treatment. Although there’s argan oil, this isn’t really moisturising enough for my eye area, which is why I’ve mostly only been using this in the daytime. This is actually good news for those that abhor oily eye creams. The texture of the cream is rather light, more like a lotion than that of a real cream. Just squirt out 1/4 – 1/2 pea size and even that out around both eyes. Soaks in pretty quickly as it cools effectively.

For the Lemon Wasabi Blemish Buster, it’s a very light gel form and soaks in almost instantly without rubbing. I apply this before my serum, moisturiser/sunscreen. On the small zits that were around, it took about 2 days for them to flatten, with day and night usage of the blemish buster. Pretty decent. My zits were not dried out, so this is really a rather mild blemish treatment. There is the very mildest of scent that smells fresh rather than floral, should appeal to all and not be a problem about it.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Cucumber Peptide Eye Cream for its excellent ingredient list and price-point. Carry this around in your purse to depuff your eyes on the go! As for the Lemon Wasabi Blemish Buster, I’d only recommend this to those that need minor help with minor zits, just so expectations are managed 🙂

~*Items reviewed purchased by me*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Anti-Ageing, Silk Naturals, Skincare and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Skincare Review: Silk Naturals Cucumber Peptide Eye Cream & Lemon Wasabi Blemish Buster

  1. k Elizabeth says:

    I love this post! I didn’t know they had these new products out yet. Thank you!!!! 🙂

  2. Charmaine says:

    Hurray, you reviewed them! Thanks for confirming my suspicions about the Blemish Buster. I love SN’s skincare for being very gentle and hydrating, but my breakouts require something stronger. Will definitely pick up the eye cream 🙂

  3. lol found your webpage when looking for different energy drink flavors, dont know how that happened!

Leave a comment