Late to joining the Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation love

I’ve found a new love of my life.

Foundation-wise, that is.

(All photos taken with camera flash)

Bourjois Healthy Mix 52 Vanilla

Presenting to you… the Bourjois Healthy Mix liquid foundation, which has been reviewed over and over and over (repeat to infinity) on blogs, magazines, other forms of mass media etc. etc. etc. usw. usw. usw!

The main reason why I was so late in trying this out, was because of the price this retails for in Singapore, over S$30 (over US$23).

However, it appeared on Asos one fine, glorious day for the humble price of… just 7 quid! That’s S$14, US$10.70 at current exchange rates *beams*

Plus, I had gone fairer than my usual Bourjois Bio Detox in 53 Light Beige and needed something lighter.

The ingredients do contain assorted silicones, as well as alcohol and certain botanical extracts, as pictured above.

Bourjois claims this to do the following:

70% MORE RADIANCE AND FLAWLESS COMPLEXION FOR UP TO 16 HOURS!

Bourjois’ 1st radiance-boosting fruit therapy foundation for a flawless complexion for up to 16hrs!

  • Apricot > radiance
  • Melon > hydration
  • Apple > antioxidant
  • Ginger > energy

Its exquisite glide-on formula blends onto the skin for a flawless, yet natural finish.

And.. it’s good for my skin:

ยท 8 hrs moisture

ยท Lets skin breathe

ยท Dermatologically tested

Comparison Pic

As with most liquid foundations, the Healthy Mix comes with a pump dispenser which works just fine and seems to dispense less than the Biodetox. The picture above and those following show a comparison of the Bourjois Healthy Mix in 52 next to the Bourjois Bio Detox in 53.

Fragrance:

The Healthy Mix is pretty strongly scented with a melon/fruity fragrance. This dissipates after 20 minutes or so, luckily.

Texture:

Compared to the Biodetox, Healthy Mix is runnier as you can tell from the photos.

Coverage:

Healthy Mix seems to give a slightly lighter coverage than the Biodetox, although I’d still categorise both in the Light-Medium range, depending on how much you apply. Personally, I use a flat top brush to stipple both on for a quick and even coverage. Both do not streak.

Light blemishes are pretty well concealed by the Healthy Mix, but darker spots will require an additional concealer rather than more layers.

I usually use about 3 short pumps of Healthy Mix for my entire face and owing to the silicones within, it’s a way lesser amount than the Biodetox.

Oil Control & Finish:

Biodetox definitely wins in this area, as Healthy Mix gives a dewy luminous finish. But this is nothing that a light finishing powder wouldn’t solve. I always have loose or finishing powder over my foundations to set them and provide some oil control. The moisturising factor of the Healthy Mix is such that it continues to impart luminosity even through my finishing powder ๐Ÿ™‚

How long would they last?

Healthy Mix, with the aid of a finishing powder, lasts a good 10 – 12 hours on me, although Biodetox can go on a bit longer. However, a drawback to Healthy Mix is that it seems to disappear on my nose (hello noon-time shine!) after a few hours, so touch-ups with my powder are a must. The Healthy Mix in 52, being an appropriate shade for me in my NC20 phase now, blends like a dream and is close to my neck shade. While it is not particularly yellow (being more on the neutral side), the contrast isn’t that apparent. If you can tell from the photo above, when blended out, even the skin on my hand looks luminous, thanks to the Healthy Mix finish ๐Ÿ™‚

If you don’t have too much to conceal and are looking for something with better coverage and staying power than a tinted moisturiser, I highly recommend the Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation. As I have somewhat dehydrated skin in the office, Healthy Mix is really the perfect foundation for me at the moment. I’ve already stocked up with an additional bottle ๐Ÿ˜‰

~*Item reviewed purchased by me*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Bourjois, Face, Foundation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Late to joining the Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation love

  1. I looked at that foundation online over the summer when I was looking for foundations that are light enough for me. I don’t think I could find anyplace where I could get my hands on it in the US. I might need to keep an eye out for it again.

Leave a comment