Scent Review: Firebird Bath & Body

A recent purchase on Etsy inspired to do up this short review on perfumes, after a long, long hiatus.

Presenting to you, Firebird Bath & Body, formerly known as Flourish Bath & Body, located in Baltimore USA. You can find hand made soaps, lip balms, body scrubs, bath salts, lip tints, body lotions AND what I purchased – perfume oils made with a base of fractionated coconut oil.

According to Firebird,

Firebird perfume oils are concentrated fragrance in a base of fractionated coconut oil- super light, quickly absorbed, and non-staining. Because they’re rolled on instead of sprayed, the scent is worn closer to the body than typical alcohol-based sprays- so you’re not going to knock over everyone you walk past (which is a good thing, right?) The scent also doesn’t evaporate as quickly as with alcohol-based perfumes, and you don’t have to wait for the alcohol smell to dissipate before you get the true scent of the perfume.

Ingredients: fractionated coconut oil, fragrance

Yummy perfume oils from Firebird Bath & Body

Yummy perfume oils from Firebird Bath & Body

I love the scent of almond beancurd and was hoping that the Almond Milk perfume oil from Firebird would be such, hence a full sized roll-on 9ml of it for a most decent US$9. 1ml sample vials are at 3 for US$5, which I decided on saltwater, pomegranate rose and grapefruit ginger.

Almond Milk

Soft, sensual, intoxicating: almond, vanilla, musk, a wisp of white chocolate. This fragrance manages to be both a soothing comfort scent and incredibly sexy at the same time (try it- you’ll see what I mean). Sugary perfume haters need not apply, but lovers of all things sweet and gourmand- I think you’ll enjoy this one quite a bit.

My take: A nutty (but not overwhelmingly nutty) almond scent with a middish-strength vanilla and light musk base. The white chocolate is indeed just a wisp of it, blending well with the vanilla to provide a light and mildly sweet note at the drydown. It’s not as sweet as many feminine perfumes I’ve sniffed and whilst foody, it’s not strongly so, but brings to mind soft, fluffy concoctions rather than a heavy and decadent one. Almond Milk stays pretty linear throughout, losing a fair bit of the nuttiness early at the drydown. Sillage, however, isn’t good for this particular scent and I lose almost all trace of it after 1.5 hours or so, unless I have my nose touching my wrist.

Pomegranate Rose

Comme des Garcons makes a perfume that I adore, called “Rose” (in their Red Series) that is a blend of red rose and raspberry. It sounds simple, but the combination is genius. The berries soften the sharp edges of the rose; the rose cuts the sweetness of the berries. This is my take on that concept, blending pomegranate, red berries, and rose petals- with a little lemon zest thrown in to freshen things up. The result is a nice balance between sweet, tart, fruity, and floral.

My take: I don’t like rose scents and I avoid them like the plague. Usually. Most bath and body products just don’t do rose scents well in a non old lady-like way. Except for a rare few. I couldn’t resist getting a sample of Pomegranate Rose, mainly because of the pomegranate and berries in the description. Let me say, I’ll be ordering the full size of this soon. Soon like I’ve added it to my Etsy cart 🙂 This scent IS AMAZING. The berries, rose petals and pomegranate blend so, so well together. I’ll have to be honest and say that I don’t get the lemon zest, but nevermind that! This is a very soft and undeniably feminine blend that stays amazingly linear at first touch and all the way to the drydown. Floral, fruity, sweet in a fresh but not too young nor cheap manner. It’s ladylike, approachable, wearable, trendy, on dit and stays an amazing 4 – 5 hours on me before I need to recharge the scent. A scent I wore to work, drinks and dancing, all in one night.

Grapefruit Ginger

Tart and fresh and full of bright citrusy sparkle and zing, this scent combines juicy grapefruit and zesty lime with the spicy kick of ginger. Grapefruit is used in aromatherapy as an energizer and mood-lifter… and I can pretty much guarantee this fragrance will do just that.

My take: It is what it is, a straight grapefruit, lime and that ol’ spicey ginger. Can someone say, ginger grapefruit ale? Effervescent, refreshing, almost good enough to drink, without the ginger overpowering its citrus counterparts. It’s a fun and young scent that I enjoy wearing to bed, actually, especially after a hectic day at work. It does get tamed and goes a bit powdery at the drydown. Like Almond Milk, this goes mute on me fairly quickly, even quicker, losing all trace at the 1 hour mark. If this lasted longer on me, I’d spring for a full size.

Saltwater

This fragrance is a bit of a departure for me. My fragrances are usually more literal and are based on simple recognizable notes: mint, fig, grapefruit, honey, etc.

This one is more conceptual. Which is not to say it doesn’t smell like it’s name. There is something unmistakably oceanic about it- a watery, ozonic quality and a touch of something salty and almost a little spicy, that brings to mind sand and driftwood and sea air. But I wouldn’t say it smells exactly like the ocean. (Would you even want it to? Dead fish, seaweed, and all?) It’s more like… a memory of the ocean. You know how familiar places become distorted through memory- certain aspects take prevalence while others fade away…

Perhaps I’m getting a little too “out there”. To put it simply- a non-floral, non-tropical ocean scent consisting of marine notes, cedar and myrtle, that softens and mellows on the skin and becomes ethereal and almost haunting. Definitely unisex, definitely unusual- and worth a try, if the idea intrigues you

My take: Somehow, this reminds me of a walk along a misty lake rather than the ocean. An enclosed body of water that retains its memories in soft, rolling wisps of marine notes and slightly woodsy scents. Aquatic, unisex (probably better on a guy’s skin to mingle with his musk), a scent that would be right at home in a dreamscape. Stays linear and lasts about 2 – 3 hours on me. If I didn’t have a cat and could enjoy scented candles, this is the sort of candle scent I’d like in the evenings.

General Comments: Firebird Bath and Body has very reasonable price points, good labelling (waterproof stickers on the roll-on), neat, simple and stylish designs. The products are as described. I wouldn’t say they are simple, but when you’re not in the mood for complex notes and prefer a scent that doesn’t detract you from what’s at hand, Firebird would be a good choice to start with. I will be purchasing again very, very soon, for the Pomegranate Rose roll-on and another batch of samples.

https://i1.wp.com/i1098.photobucket.com/albums/g369/lipglossfiend17/IMG_4090.jpg

~*Items purchased by me and opinions are my own*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Etsy, Firebird Bath & Body, Indie Companies, Perfume & Scents and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

