Skincare Review: Naturelle D’Orient 100% Pure Argan Oil

Thanks to another giveaway hosted by vivawoman, I snagged a 50ml bottle of Naturelle D’Orient 100% Pure Argan Oil from My Life Store, an online skincare store based in Singapore. Certified organic.

The glass pump bottle of liquid gold was accompanied by a brochure and 2 argan oil samples from the generous folks at My Life Store (thanks!). The 50ml bottle of argan oil retails at SGD$69.55 (US$56.50).

Some information on argan oil taken off My Life Store’s website:

In Moroccan tradition, Argan oil has always been at the heart of women’s beauty rituals: face and body cares, capillary mask, nail “baths”. Anti-aging, nourishing and moisturising for face, body and hair. Organic certified.

Unique and rare, Argan oil is an exclusively Moroccan active ingredient. For centuries, Berber women of the Atlas Mountains have kept its secrets. Argan oil is traditionally found in natural remedies and Moroccan beauty care products due to its moisturizing, protective, nourishing and regenerative properties. Naturally rich in antioxidants (vitamin E and polyphenols), Omega 6 fatty acids (linoleic acid) and Omega 9, Argan oil is recognized for its nourishing and protective virtues. With its antioxidant properties, it contributes to fight against skin aging signs and the slackening of the skin.

The instructions are simple and varied:

Face: Apply few drops on a perfectly clean skin. Gently massage avoiding contact with the eye. For a better effect, a month treatment is advised every time it is needed (pollution, stress, climatic changes…)

Body: Ideally after a scrub, “warm up” the oil in your hands and proceed with a massage with large movements. Ideal for giving a well-being sensation and for toning up, protecting and regenerating the skin. Use once to three times a week.

Hair: To recover strength and shine to your hair, apply to the tips 30 minutes before shampooing. You can also apply it for an all night long treatment. If you would like to treat your frizzy hair, you may also apply a very small amount on towel-dried or dry clean hair – make sure you apply from the hair ends, and use small quantities each time.

Nails: To strengthen your nails, give them a regular regenerating bath in a mix composed of equal parts of Argan Oil and lemon juice (10-15 minutes).

That’s the photo in the brochure that shows the argan kernels 🙂 which do look similar to soy beans.

My thoughts:

I’ve used this several times since receiving the oil as a final step to moisturising my face over other light serums that I’ve applied beforehand. I put a couple of drops in my damp palms, rub them together to warm up the oil and then pat and massage my face with my palms. There is no perceptible scent at all that my nose can detect in the argan oil. To my surprise, instead of a heavy oil, argan oil is surprisingly lightweight and sank into my skin quickly. There is no greasy after feel to my face, just a lightly moisturised look with a bit of shine popping through a couple of hours later if you’re going about barefaced. I have slightly oily but dehydrated skin and on me this is just right, akin to how jojoba oil works on me. If you’re oilier, this could be used as a night time moisturiser. For drier skins, it might be worth a try mixing a few drops of argan oil into your cream-based moisturiser for a more emollient feel.

I plan to use some argan oil in my DIY oil cleanser once my current batch runs out, so stay tuned to this section that’ll be updated once I’ve tried it.

~*Item featured is from a giveaway, but opinions are my own*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Anti-Ageing, Giveaways, Indie Companies, Moisturisers, My Life Store, Naturelle D'Orient, Skincare and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

