Part 1 – Silk Naturals Spring 2012: Lips

It’s not all about the Spring 2012 lip shades released by Silk Naturals, although I did get 3 of them. Along with the Kissable Cream Lipglosses in Joy and Swing, I also picked up the Amplifying Lip Glaze in Enthrall. Kisser Slicker Peachy Keen and 2 previously released Amplifying Lip Glazes in Beguile and Excite were also in my cart.

This post will feature the lip products I bought, along with swatches of them. Part 2 will feature the loose mineral products.

(All photos can be clicked on to view them in their full sizes)

That’s my wee Spring 2012 purchase, which included the Beach Bum trio, as well as a sample sachet of Dreamy. If you haven’t figured it out by now, I greatly prefer lip products to anything else ūüôā The lip products retail US$4.50 upwards.

Flash

I really enjoy the Amplifying Lip Glaze (ALG) formula. Being that it makes my lips tingle and smoothen out the fine lines (temporarily). The lip colours range from very sheer, a simple wash of colour to pigmented.

What Silk Naturals says

Ingredients:   Ingredients:  Certified Organic Castor and Jojoba Oils, oleic/linoleic/linolenic polyglycerides (organic), Avocado Oil, Organic Candelilla Wax, Cranberry Oil, Raspberry Oil, Passionfruit Oil, Carnuaba Wax, Dipalmitoyl hydroxyproline, Menthol.  Also contains:  Mica, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide.

Amplifying Lip Glazes have a great glossy finish, a hint of tingly menthol, and¬† a special non-stinging lip plumper called Dipalmitoyl hydroxyproline.¬† It’s an amino acid grafted onto a bit of palm oil that penetrates deeply to moisturize your lips and causes a contraction in the collagen fibers to make your lips appear fuller.

It’s not an instant plumper- rather it helps to protect the collagen in your lips and provide a bit of extra fullness.¬† You won’t get duck lips from it- just juicy, moist, slightly plump lips.¬† The more you use it the more it plumps, as the effect builds over time.

It’s healthy, all-natural, and a great anti-aging ingredient because it helps protect the collagen in your lips from disappearing as you age.

Flash

Joy and Swing are in the Kissable Cream format (KC) made with cocoa butter, a new formula by SN. Peachy Keen is in the original Kisser Slicker formula (my 2nd favourite next to ALG) and a shade I’ve been wanting to try for quite sometime.

KC ingredients:

Ingredients:  Castor Oil, Candelilla Wax, Jojoba oil, Olive Oil, Cocoa Butter, Carnuaba Wax, Cranberry Seed Oil, Vanilla Infused Coconut Oil.  Also contains:  Mica, titanium dioxide, iron oxide, FD&C color

Kisser Slicker ingredients:

Ingredients: Organic Castor, Avocado, and Jojoba Oil, Beeswax, Candelilla Wax, Caranuaba Wax, Mica, Titanium dioxide, iron oxides, FD&C colors, flavor

Without flash

It’s quite a mix of shades here and I’m happy to see that I didn’t pick any that were too similar to each other. The lip colours were swatched heavily and can be sheered out or applied with a lighter hand, fyi.

Descriptions:

Joy is a gorgeous creamy mid-tone coral. ¬†It’s a bit lighter and more opaque (although still on the sheerish side) than Flaunt, and deeper than Twirl.

Swing has a base of sheer plummy pink with a fair bit of aqua shimmers to make your teeth look a little whiter. ¬†It’s refined enough for the office, but casual enough for flipflops and sundresses. ¬†The sparkle is not at all over the top. ¬†Swing is bound to become a real staple for you- grab one for your purse, and one for your desk drawer.

Peachy Keen is made in the spirit of Seedy, and Damsel- it’s completly sheer- no sparkle, no coverage, but a simple wash of a nice reddish peach shade.¬† It’s great for layering or all by itself.

Beguile is a deeper pink with a hint of plum and a little bit of shimmer.¬† It’s like if Very Berry and Razzle Dazzle had a more opaque love child- same cool almost reddish pink color family a creamy shimmery pigmentation

Enthrall is shimmery- it has a pink base with flecks of red and gold. ¬†It’s a great topper for a stain, or fun all on its own.

Excite is a sheered gold color- great for layering, or really fantastic as a more glimmery version of a nude lip.

SN describes the shades very well and all are true to their descriptions.

KC Joy

Joy is creamy, easy to apply smoothly and on my lips is more of a light tone coral. The pigmented formula (I have on several layers) conceals my natural lip colour well. I adore the shade on its own, but it looks a tad light on my current NC25-30 skin. Ladies fairer than me will be happy with this.

I like the sparkles in Swing. They’re tiny in size but catch the light very well. A good one for layering. When worn on its own, you might need to amp up the rest of your makeup to avoid looking washed out, as Swing tones down my lip colour somewhat with the plummy base.

I had high hopes for Enthrall as anything with red and gold tends to look good on my lips sheered out. Don’t get me wrong, I love how Enthrall looks on me. From afar. However, up close, you see these rather large flecks and these will stay on long after the base shade of Enthrall has faded off.

I’ve been dithering back and forth on Peachy Keen for months, because I was worried that it’d be like Bitten, too red on my lips. However, SN got it right with Peachy Keen. It’s the sheer wash of colour with no glitter that I’ve been looking for. That subtle wash of peachy-red (less red) that gives it a I’ve just bitten on a popsicle look on me.

Excite is fun and something I’d use over a on-glittery shade or too pink colours to get that golden girl shine, which warms up any shade and complements warmer/yellow skin tones. Plus, it’s an ALG, how could I resist?

Beguile’s something I had great doubts about before placing it, removing it, placing it, removing (repeat and repeat) in my cart. I can’t take pinks that’re too cool, although I really prefer pinks to reds as the latter ages me. Nothing about Beguile suggests it’d go well with me, except maybe the plum bit.

But it really looks good on me, so I think. Somehow it has the right balance of colours in it and actually flatters my skintone. Don’t ask me why, I dunno! But I’m mighty pleased with Beguile and the ALG formula it comes in is a boon!

~*Items reviewed purchased by me*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Indie Companies, Lip Stuff, Silk Naturals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Part 1 – Silk Naturals Spring 2012: Lips

  1. LT says:

    I really like Joy and Beguile on you. It’s too bad about Enthrall. I wouldn’t want tiny flecks stuck on my lips. Blech.
    I’m now wanting Joy and Beguile! Thanks for the swatches. ūüôā

  2. b says:

    wonderful reviews……loving joy, swing and beguile……thanks for the swatches too,.

  3. Eclectic says:

    Loving Peachy Keen on you..it has a very nice depth yet staying sheer at the same time. Pity about Enthrall’s specks but Beguile n Joy look fresh on you. Thanks for the beautiful swatches.

Leave a Reply

