Praise for the Essence Longlasting Eye Pencils

These 0.01 oz, 0.28g self sharpening Essence Longlasting eye pencils that retail at S$3.30 each. I took a gamble with them as there were not testers and I didn’t know what to expect. Other than being “longlasting”, there are no claims as to smudge and water resistance.

I didn’t want to get boring ol’ black pencils nor chocolate, so I picked up 11 Go Wild, a light baby pink and 14 Think Khaki, a light olive/khaki green shade.

Ingredients (from Ulta):

Cyclopentasiloxane, Mica, Synthetic Beeswax, Cera Microcristallina (Microcrystalline Wax), Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Myristyl Lactate, Silica, C30-45 Alkyl Cetearyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Myristyl Alcohol, Tocopherol, Lecithin, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Glyceryl Stearate, Magnesium Silicate, Glyceryl Oleate, Citric Acid, May Contain: Ci 19140 (Yellow 5 Lake), Ci 77000 (Aluminum Powder), Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499 (Iron Oxides), Ci 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyanide), Ci 77891 (Titanium Dioxide).

Top row shows the pencils with a single line drawn across and the bottom has them heavily drawn on. Not too big a difference between both if you ask me and decent pigmentation for a tiny price!

 I also like the slight metallic sheen to them.

The texture of these pencils are slightly firm but do not tug/drag the eyelid. They’re firmer than the Urban Decay 24/7 pencils but draw equally smooth on the eye.

This photo shows what remains on the back of my hand, after I’d rubbed them back and forth 20 times and with light pressure, to simulate the rubbing of the eyes. Impressive, isn’t it?

I’ve roadtested Think Khaki and it gave a decent performance. I did a winged tip and the tip lasted a good 5 hours before fading completely away. The colour above my lashline, however, remained there, but lost slightly of its intensity, as no primer was used on my slightly oily lids. I redrew them again and that lasted me well after dinner.

Think Khaki was also easy to remove with my usual oil cleanser for makeup removal and there was no irritation caused the entire day.

While the selection of shades is slightly limited at the Watsons here and there’re only 8 on the Essence website, I’d highly recommend getting them in colours you’d use or as backups too. At S$3.30 and relatively smudge-resistant Made in Germany self sharpening pencils, what’s there not to like?

~*Items reviewed purchased by me*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Essence, Eyeliner, Eyes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

