First Impressions: January 2012 Bellabox Singapore Edition

Beauty boxes are making an appearance beyond the US and there are now several in Singapore, which include VanityTrove, Bellabox and Glamabox.

Being a lemming sometimes, I decided to partake in Bellabox, since it was the cheapest at S$15/month (US$11.60) which can be terminated anytime. You’ll receive a box monthly, consisting of 5 samples and/or full sized items which are at Bellabox’s discretion. Meaning you have no choice, so wait and be awed, surprised or disappointed.

My Friday the 13th Bellabox

My first Bellabox arrived on Friday the 13th, January 2012 😛 in a sturdy, reddish pink box. Sent via registered mail.

With bated breath, I opened the box to find…

Another stylised box.

Which yielded the following…

  • Dr Jart Detox Healing Blemish Base SPF25  (or balm, really) 15ml (deluxe sample)
  • Pangea Organics Lip Balm in Lavender with Cardamom (full sized)
  • Belif Hydra Sebum Control Essence (quantity not listed) but looks to be 10ml? (deluxe sample)
  • Herban Essentials Lemon Towelette (1 unit)
  • Dr Dennis Gross Skincare Extra Strength Alpha Beta Peel Patented Two-Step Anti Aging Treatment (2 sachets for single usage together)

-_- <—— was the expression I had after unwrapping the products.

Let’s talk about something neutral. Like packaging. I find the use of both boxes redundant, when the items are all small and can easily fit into a bubblepac. Besides, these are not fragile items.

Other than the Belif brochure included, there was also a Bellabox note.

To justify the cost of $15 being a great bargain, the items also have their full-sized prices listed. So the breakdown of my box basically is worth the following, dividing it by the estimated or provided unit cost:

  • Dr Jart Detox Healing Blemish Base SPF25 15ml S$9.90
  • Pangea Organics Lip Balm in Lavender with Cardamom (full sized) S$14.50
  • Belif Hydra Sebum Control Essence (quantity not listed) but looks to be 10ml? S$11.40
  • Herban Essentials Lemon Towelette (1 unit) S$0.90 (but seriously, a towelette? you must be kidding)
  • Dr Dennis Gross Skincare Extra Strength Alpha Beta Peel Patented Two-Step Anti Aging Treatment S$7.10
  • Registered postage $2.24 + $1.50

Total supposed worth: Products = S$43.80. Products + postage = S$47.54

Firstly, out of the items, I frankly see myself slightly interested in the Dr Jart BB cream (provided it’s a good colour match) and nothing else really. I’m inundated with lipbalms and cardamom on my lips isn’t something I fancy smelling. The Belif Hydra sebum control I’d probably try it out on my nose, but otherwise it’d not be useful for my skin type. As for the towelette… I’m in absolute awe. That anyone would really purchase that? The extra strength Dr Gross sample is something I’m in 2 minds about to try or otherwise, since I’m planning a beach getaway next week and shouldn’t be doing peels. Also, would it be too “extra” strong for my skin to handle?

While I’m not completely displeased, I have to admit to being underwhelmed by it all. I appreciate that Bellabox has to source for these partners and to generate some profit out of it. The worth and pricing of products are always subjective but I shall reserve my views on them. However, I’m also pleased that these are at least labels that are generally not that easily available as, say Johnsons & Johnsons or something generic. I’d like to recommend more makeup or “neutral skincare” items, like handcream, body moisturiser, hydrosol sprays, shampoo, rather than acid peels or sebum serums.

Would I continue? I’d like to see how the February box goes before continuing beyond that. If it’s still something that doesn’t suit my liking and lifestyle, I’d ditch the subscription. If it appeals to me more, I’d do a best-of-3-months tally and see.

~*Bellabox reviewed paid for by me*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Asian Labels, Bellabox. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Impressions: January 2012 Bellabox Singapore Edition

  1. valerie says:

    hello! i have been subscribing to bellabox for 3 or 4 months now and this month was indeed a little disappointing but there were some great boxes 🙂 last month’s had a full sized lipstick and mini OPI and also there were Aveda hair products before! i guess it could be a hit & miss since it depends on what the individual likes (beauty/skincare/cosmetic)

    but for $15 a month i take it as a surprise box! 🙂

  2. Kookith says:

    I was eagerly awaiting to see what you got, but Aud, I was so disappointed for you! And underwhelmed is totally the right word. When I saw what you got, I was like thinking wtf for SGD $15?! Meg’s gives MUCH BETTER stuff for USD $15 and I’d rather pay that and get UD, or Tarte, or even NYX, than these items.

    • Exactly! I’d think US$15 goes a long way further. But I’ve yet to get my first Meg’s box, so we’ll see 🙂
      Is it just me or do I always feel that Singapore gets the crappier of the lot of almost anything? Like makeup selection, collection, skincare…

Leave a Reply

