Meet the L’OREAL La Couleur Infallible eyeshadow 021 Sahara Treasure

And what a treasure it was, with me late to the game and most of the eyeshadows sold out at the 5 drugstores I went to, except for Black Onyx and Emerald Lame. The testers were still mostly full, so I could play with the L’or collection. a limited edition in Singapore, which included Emerald Lame, Black Onyx, Bronze Goddess and Gold Mine (which I’d like to get).

Meet my newest love my life – the L’oreal La Couleur Infallible loose eyeshadow in 021 Sahara Treasure that promises a 24-hour hold with an iridescent finish. Retails at SGD$14.90, 3.5 g pot Made in ItalyΒ (quality is virtually assured!). According to the Boots UK website, the eyeshadow promises to be water and smudge-resistant and does not run into the fine lines around the eyes. L’oreal’s website claims a 24-hour wear πŸ™‚

The base of this hardy plastic container has a window which shows the content in the jar, making it for easy storage and recognition.

Unlike most of the cosmetics sold in Singapore, this one isn’t shrinkwrapped. It has 2 of these thin tapes at the side to hold the lid secure. Along with the manufacturing date, which has this safely as July 2011.

Strange enough, there are no ingredients listed, not even under the sticker on the lid. I’ve not had any luck googling for it. Loreal’s website has the following listed under ingredients.

  • At the heart of the revolution: a hybrid powder texture. The formula contains an exceptionally high proportion of binders (oils), creating a formulation that lies between a powder and a cream.
  • A special adhesive polymer network adheres to the eye lid as comfortably as a second skin for a full 24 hours.
  • A new color catalyst: ColorReveal Technology, creates a new color structure for a magnifying glass effect allowing pigments to be revealed in their full intensity

There’s a black plastic insert which helps to hold the loose pigment/eyeshadow nicely in the jar and to prevent excessive fallout within. As requested on the black insert – “KEEP ME” and you’d better!

I’ll have to admit that I’ve not tested it out on my lids. But tomorrow I will. I’ve only played around with swatching the eyeshadow on the back on my hand and holding it out under a running tap. It didn’t budge πŸ™‚

Sahara Treasure, in my eyes, is a cool-leaning light taupe that appears darker in the jar than on the skin, with a metallic finish rather than glitter or sparkling.

Pigmented

The colour can be layered on to give a highly pigmented and very metallic finish.

Single layer sheered out with finger

Or it looks very natural and less metallic with a single layer sheered out. You’ll have to work quickly before the eyeshadow sets to be virtually budge proof.

I can’t wait to try it out tomorrow πŸ™‚ Watch this space for updates!

Update: I used this with 2 coats on my lid today, sheered out. With no primer under. It creased on my slightly oily lids in 3 hours and faded after 5 hours 😦 I topped up with more eyeshadow and the same thing happened – creasing in the double eyelid fold. So it’s not exactly budge-proof when it comes to oil! It’s a lovely, subtle one-wash shade nonetheless and I’ll be trying it over a primer tomorrow. I applied with both a sponge applicator as well as a brush during the 2 times I used the eyeshadow today, so I doubt it has to do with my application technique!

Update 2: With a primer under, this does not budge and stays put for a good 12 hours, without creasing. I also tried this again without a primer under and applied thickly. This time, it also stayed put for a good 6 – 7 hours before starting to crease.

~*Item reviewed purchased by me*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Drugstore Labels, Eyes, Eyeshadow, Loreal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meet the L’OREAL La Couleur Infallible eyeshadow 021 Sahara Treasure

  1. k Elizabeth says:

    Looks beauuuuuuutiful!

  2. Kookith says:

    I love the look of this! I have a weakness for golds πŸ˜€

    • Not exactly infallible, it creases without a primer. But if you really fancy the colour, grab it if you see it! It’s OOS at the counters I’ve been to, but they might restock, a/c to the SA.

  3. Pingback: L’OREAL La Couleur Infallible eyeshadow 027 Goldmine Found! | LipGlossFiend

Leave a Reply

