Wiggle Perfume and Sundries Review Part Dos

Here’s my short review on the final 4 scents of my first Wiggle purchase, a continuation of the first part here.

Let’s start with my 2 favourites out of the 4.

Du Bois is described as:

DuBois is a heady, lavish blend of creamy white scents. A mix of gardenia, almond, and egyptian musk with a hint of cinnamon, this fragrance is very luxurious and sophisticated, but still equally appropriate for day or evening. There’s something very retro about this scent, it’s very ladylike and glamorous, with a bit of a sparkle. I almost feel like a Veronica Lake hairdo should be required with it. White (hopefully faux!) fur and (non-conflict) diamonds are optional.

My thoughts:  This opens very white and on the floral side with much gardenia and a tad of almond present. The musk grounds this scent. While, I wouldn’t exactly call this a lux/sophisticated/retro scent, this would make a general crowd pleaser for those that like to be safe. It’s lovely and I’d rather call it timeless rather than retro? A scent that’d work for the 20s – 80s 😛 One of the Wiggle perfume oils with better sillage.

 

Nicosia

Nicosia is:

 

I’ve always had a longing to see the mediterranean. There’s just so much history there, so much art, such gorgeous, passionate people. And the food! This scent embodies one of my favorite escape fantasies. A blend of fig, olive blossom, clove, golden honey and sandalwood, this scent is all fresh breezes and dusky-haired women draped in sun-bleached cotton.

On Me: This takes quite a bit on my skin to discern the scents properly. I really like this. It’s how I’d imagine ambrosia to smell like. Much honey and clove and traces of olive blossom and fig. I don’t quite get the sandalwood, unlike Djuna (described next). Makes me want to lick my inner wrist. As it dries down, I begin to get a tad of the sandalwood and decreasingly less honey. I’d have preferred to smell of honey throughout 😛 The final waft is a tad too floral for my liking. Nicosia has made me curious about testing out other honey scents.

Djuna

Djuna is:

I was going to name this Candice, after a girl I knew a long time ago who wore fabulous vintage in a town that never understood and always smelled of sweetened sandalwood. When I remembered how she shared my loved of Anais Nin, the name Djuna lept out at me and stuck.

This scent is creamy yet earthy, and deeply sensous in a quiet, warm way. I’ve enriched smooth sandalwood with hints of spicy rose, peach blossom, and bergamot, with just a touch of honey added for extra sex appeal.

On me: Djuna opens on me smelling of a dose of non-offensive sandalwood and rose water. With just the slightest trace of honey. This is a very consistent scent with pretty good sillage (must be the sandalwood) and ends up smelling of sandalwood and rose water. It’s certainly earthy and sensuous but I don’t get the peach blossom and bergamot. It’s a rather simple scent, easy to wear, if you like “florientals”, which is what this is to me. Makes me want to wiggle in a cheongsam and re-enact a few scenes from The World of Suzie Wong, if you know what I mean 😉

Maya

Described as:

This is a rich, deep scent, not very sweet at all for those of you who prefer something earthier. A blend of exotic hardwoods and spiced chocolate, Maya is the more finished version of my Mayan Cocoa scent. I’ve added hints of orchid and plumeria, along with a kick of black pepper to give it a little heat. This fragrance is wild, dark, and mysterious…give it a try and see if you don’t get some rather primal reactions!

On me: Maya was one of the scents I was most excited to try from Wiggle. But maybe the expectations were too high. When dabbed, I get a very heady chocolate rush, along with the florals. Makes me go whooooooooooooo! But the chocolate dies down really quickly and I get mostly the orchid and plumeria remaining, along with a dash of the pepper. This is a scent that morphs a lot. The first couple of minutes, my nostrils had a tad of trouble discerning the notes as they just morphed too much. Very interesting play there, but methinks the concoction effort was probably a tad too ambitious. The final drydown is really just synthetic orchid on me, unfortunately. Heady opening but ended on a flat note.

~*Items reviewed were purchased by me*~

 

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Indie Companies, Perfume & Scents, Wiggle Perfume and Sundries and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

