Review: The Body Shop Extra Virgin Minerals Cream Compact SPF 15 in 102 Natural Ivory

I’ve been roadtesting The Body Shop’s Extra Virgin Minerals Cream Compact SPF 15 in 102 Natural Ivory (https://lipglossfiend.wordpress.com/2011/08/30/a-lil-purchase-the-body-shop-extra-virgin-minerals-cream-compact-lightening-touch-and-sephoras-jumbo-liner-in-taupe/) for work the remainder of the work week and here’s a slightly more thorough review.

(I’m in no way affliated to The Body Shop so if you have queries on your colour match or the series, do direct them to TBS, not me, as I cannot answer them. )

It comes in a black casing with a rubber-like finish, which probably makes it more shatterproof. A small window at the top shows the shade. At SGD$39.90 for 8.5 g of prouct and a synthetic application brush, it strikes me as steep for a TBS product, so I’d only get this when there’s a sale/discount or when I have product rebate values on my TBS member card. There’s a fairly extensive colour range available at larger TBS stores that cater to olive, yellow and pink undertones.

A fair sized mirror is on the underside of the lid, which makes it easy for touchups in that crowded ladies room.

This is a cream to powder finish compact, that’s touted for a “matte” finish. It’s also formulated with olive oil, so it goes on with some emollience but dries to a powder finish. It also contains silicones (which most mineral foundation lines do not) so do take note. SPF 15 and this is NOT compatible with avobenzone-based sunscreens as the UV filter in the foundation used is EHM (octinoxate).

While it’s touted for a matte finish, it’s by no means flat. Semi-matte would be the best description. I have normal-oily combination skin that’s on the dehydrated side, thanks to the strong airconditioning in my office. This is PERFECT as it gives an initial semi-matte finish without dehydrating my skin. It also doesn’t cake up towards the end of the workday, which drier and powder foundations are wont to. I would say this foundation has average – slightly below average oil control as I spot shine on my face 3 hours into wear time, despite using loose/finishing powder to set it, as I do all my foundations. It provides more of a light – medium coverage and while it is to some extent buildable, it doesn’t quite cover pimple marks/acne scars, so concealer is still required. There was no oxidising effect observed in the evening (I have this on from 8am – 7+pm) which is great and counter to my expectations, owing to the oils found in the foundation. The foundation does NOT leave a heavy feel on my face which heavier foundations can. The coverage did fade slightly but evenly towards the end of the day, which is good enough for 10 – 11 hours of wear, with powder touchups inbetween).

A synthetic bristled-brush with a plastic handle lies flush in the bottom compartment, which is nifty. It’s not just a brush for show, but a practical one that aids in smooth application.

I like using the flat sides of the brush rather than the end of the bristles to apply my foundation, as that makes for a more even application without streaks, as while the ends are fairly evenly cut without being pokey, they’re not quite dense enough to give a flawless application, which my synthetic bristled flat top brushes, being denser, fare better. I’ve also used my fingers and my flat top brushes to apply/stipple on the foundation and both methods work fine too.

This is 102 Natural Ivory, which as you can tell is yellow based

rather than peach/pink/olive.


Blended out with my finger tips with nary a trace.

Would I repurchase this? Yes I would, as it makes for an easy and quick application without a heavy I’m wearing foundation look. Good for post-gym makeup applications in the midst of the work day. But I’d wait for a sale/discount.

~*Item reviewed purchased with my own moolah*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Face, Foundation, Foundation/BB Cream, The Body Shop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

