A Lil’ Purchase: The Body Shop Extra Virgin Minerals Cream Compact, Lightening Touch and Sephora’s Jumbo Liner in Taupe

I happened to be at Great World City (a mall) today for a late morning meeting, that happily ended before lunch, leaving me with time to nose in the shops before grabbing lunch. Much to the dismay of my wallet.

After receiving the email alert from The Body Shop on the release of their Extra Virgin Minerals Range in Singapore (http://www.thebodyshop.com.sg/en/index-foundation.aspx), I’d been keen to check them out, which happened to be out just today. Guess who was the lucky one that was the first tester for the EVM products? Me! 😀 Imagine how fun it was to be the first to actually handle clean un-tested testers.

While mineral makeup isn’t a new concept, I had been wanting a compact to store in the office to re-do my makeup after lunch gym sessions.

The EVM foundations are available in the following 3 formats:

EVM Cream Compact with SPF 15

Cream Compact SPF 15

Created from a unique blend of 100% ultra-fine, ultra-pure mineral pigments and 100% Community Fair Trade Italian cold-pressed extra virgin olive oil, this foundation blends on like a cream and miraculously transforms to a light-weight matte finish to give a medium to full coverage.

Size: 8.50 g
Price: S$39.90

I only noticed 3 shades available at the counter at Great World City. 102 – Natural Ivory (yellow-toned, about NC 25, which I purchased); 108 – Golden Ivory (which is actually olive-toned, not “golden, suits more mediterranean skintones) and 105 – Rose Ivory (which is peachy-pink toned). 

102 in Natural Ivory was the best match for me. As I was the first sampler for the tester, I happily swiped my finger in the compact to test out the foundation on my jawline. Bingo, perfect match for yellow-based NC 25 skin. Yes, it’s a matte finish which equates with oily skin, though I think dehydrated skins like mine might find relief too, as it’s cream-based. It comes with a synthetic brush within the compact, which doesn’t make the SGD$39.90 look too bad. There’s a small mirror under the cover as well A more thorough review will follow when I’ve roadtested this. Although it contains olive oil, it did not feel as slick as the liquid foundation featured below.

(ETA: There ARE plenty more shades available at the larger TBS stores, like the one at Plaza Singapura)

There’s also a Liquid EVM foundation with SPF 30 coverage.

Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation is made from an exclusive combination of pure mineral pigments and Community Fair Trade extra virgin olive oil and marula oil, creating a wonderfully blendable foundation, which is light and comfortable to wear and offers all-day hydration, 14 hours of skin moisturisation.

Size: 28 ml
Price: S$36.90

I’d recommend this for dry and matured skin. I tested this out on my hand (which always readily absorbs moisturisers, oils and lotions) and this did take a bit of time to sink in fully, owing to the olive oil. Normal/oily/and even combi-dehydrated skins might find this a tad too heavy. Also, as it came in a breakable jar, it wasn’t what I was looking for really.

The EVM Loose Powder Foundation in SPF 25

Made with 100% ultra-fine, ultra-pure mineral pigments, this long-lasting premium loose foundation powder applies evenly and blends easily to give a natural-looking complexion with a radiant finish.

Size: 5 g
Price: S$36.90

I didn’t test this so I won’t say much. Most mineral makeup come in this format and I have plenty, which explains why I didn’t bother.

To get a 20% off the EVM range, I had to pick up another makeup item, any other makeup item. So I chose the Lightening Touch in 03. To brighten up the undereye area.

2 Tea Tree Oil facial wipe/wash samples were also given to me and these were reflected in the receipt (which probably explains why The Body Shop in Singapore is on the stingy side with disbursing samples? I did ask if they had a Shiso BB cream sample sachet, but unfortunately no.)

There’s a very tiny Sephora in the same mall which I couldn’t resist popping into, while on the way to the taxi stand. It’s mandatory to walk by Sephora to get a cab 😉

I was totally not expecting to pick up anything at all, since this Sephora is like 1/6 or 1/8 the size of the Sephora store at Ion, which I was at just a couple of weeks back.

The best things can probably be found in the smallest of packages? 😛

The Sephora Jumbo Liner that is waterproof, promising 12HR wear and in…. 04 TAUPE! Score!

It’s 0.10 oz, Made in Germany and priced at SGD$17. This retails at USD$10 (approx. SGD$12.20) on the US Sephora website, so SGD$5 more isn’t too bad a markup. While the entire US range of colours wasn’t available, there’s at least 8 – 10 or more colours on display at the Great World City branch. I had fun swatching but really, I had my mind made up on Taupe even before I started swatching. A review will follow after I’ve tested this out. It’s still happily shrinkwrapped and sitting happy in my drawer.

Erm am I supposed to be impressed that 36 females were satisfied with this product? Out of the erm more than 3.6 billion females on earth? Which makes this, in terms of percentages… not worth mentioning. Sorry, I can’t help it.

There you have it. Happy ramblings at 0400 hrs in the morning 🙂

~*Items rambled on about purchased by me*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Concealer, Eyeliner, Eyes, Face, Foundation, Sephora, The Body Shop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

