Skin Food Review: Agave Cactus Sun BB Cream SPF 36 PA+++ #1 Light Beige

I was so awed by the Skin Food Agave Cactus Sun BB Cream sample from my store purchase (here) that I decided to hunt around on good ol’ Ebay to get a cheaper tube.

2b-gentler, an Ebay seller based in South Korea, seemed to offer the best deal, at US$18.97 with free shipping. My item was shipped out the next day after payment and took exactly 1 week to get from South Korea to Singapore. Fantastic TAT. The items were packed in a small and sturdy box, with the BB cream wrapped well. So along with the BB cream, came a few Korean companions…

Samples make me happy.

There was a Baviphat Apple AC Therapy Sleeping Pack, a Baviphat Peach All-in-one Peeling Gel, a Beauty Friends Cereal Mask, along with a handwritten note, a copy of the Ebay message AND English instructions for the samples. I’d think this seller has aced every single score you can think. The price of US$18.97 vs SGD$49.90 makes it worth the short wait too. It’s a 40ml tube.

Baviphat’s a rather new Korean label that is also available in Singapore. I’ve not tried any of their items, but the AC Therapy Sleeping Pack is calling my name. While I do not sleep in an AC room, I do think it’d be suitable to use mid- or end-work week when my skin has been dried out by the office AC.

The item was shrinkwrapped and the date of manufacture is stamped on the side, which puts it as 13 June 2011. Thumbs up for fresh produce.

However, the ingredients and instructions are all in Korean with no English translation. So a small note on the usage could be included along with the ones for the samples. As I’ve already screened the ingredients at the Skin Food Shop, this doesn’t really bother me. The EHM provides the SPF factor here, which makes it compatible with mineral-based (i.e. SPF) makeup too.

Sponge tip...?

It comes with a sponge tip which I’ve removed. It’s supposed to help distribute the BB evenly on the face. But it’d absorb too much of the BB and you’d have to keep washing it. So chuck it, I say. Also, as the BB has silicones, it does spread and glide rather easily, providing an even finish. There’s really no need for a sponge or brush.

The nozzle is housed within a green plastic cap, which you need to cap the cover back on, so please don’t chuck that, though it’s removable (refer to following photo).

It’s a small nozzle, which makes it easy to dispense a precise amount by squeezing the tube slightly.

This tiny blob is enough for one of my cheeks or my forehead. I don’t know if you can tell, but it’s rather yellow-based. Definitely more so than the Skin Food Aloe BB cream that I’ve tried a few months ago.

It really glides on well without being too siliconey and offers a medium coverage. It is buildable, but I find that a single layer on my face is good enough. Anything thicker looks too obvious imo. Having said that, a bit of light concealing is still necessary if you have acne marks and the like and want a perfect canvas.

More importantly, this does not dry out my skin nor does it turn patchy or flakey. The Agave Cactus BB cream is recommended for normal – slightly dry skin and is really great for my office where it’s like working in a freezer at times. I apply the BB cream all the way to my lower lashline and it provides sufficient coverage for my light eye circles too. It wears very well and is still intact at the end of 8 – 10 hours, although I do need to touch up with a hint of powder midday, when my nose starts shining like Rudolph’s red nose.

This is the very first BB cream I’ve tried that matches my NC 25 skin and has good lasting power (when set with loose powder). By my guess-timation, I only use about 0.5ml – 0.75ml per application for my face, so a 40ml tube will see me through a couple of months at least, if not more, as I do rotate my foundations.

I’d definitely re-purchase this on Ebay and from the same seller.

~*Item reviewed purchased by me*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in BB Cream, Face, Skin Food, Skincare and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

