The Morbid The Merrier: Cleo, Lucy, Annabelle, Voix de Ville

Here’s the follow-up to my earlier post on The Morbid The Merrier’s sale.

Maximo Dark Chocolate Perfume Oil Solid USD$4.50
Natali Chocolate Orange Perfume Oil Solid USD$4.50
Cleo Perfume Oil USD$12
Set of 3 perfume samples USD$7
 (I picked Voix de Ville, Lucy and Annabelle)

Intl shipping was US$3.60 and I opted for 20% off my order. A US$26 order for the above items. Pretty good value to me.

TMTM’s packaging has been raved about in the blog-o-sphere, so I shan’t go into that. But I’m impressed, suffice to say 🙂

Amply bubblepac-wrapped. No spillage at all. No invoice was included. I paid for my items on 15 June and they were shipped 20 June, and got here in early July. Pretty ok TAT in all.

  The labels are pretty professionally done, imo, with just a touch of twisted quirkiness to them, which goes pretty well with The Morbird The Merrier.

Maximo and Natali are solid scents and shrinkwrapped. I’ve not opened them and don’t intend to till I’ve used up several of my opened solid scents lying around.

Maximo‘s description reads:

Dreamy. Spicy. Mystifying. This perfume has it all.

Maximo is a masculine scent. Having said that, it could easily be worn by a woman, especially one such as myself, who has never gone for florals. A complex and beautiful blend of sweet cocoa, spicy black pepper, earthy patchouli with a heart of vanilla and wood.

Please don’t be afraid of patchouli! It’s not the overbearing patchouli you might be thinking of. I’ve blended it to act as a pleasing heart note, grounding the chocolate.

My favorite thing about this scent is the way it continues to change the entire time you wear it, revealing its complex chemistry.

It’s simply gorgeous.

Natali reads:

Natali is a brooding yet comforting blend of sweet, spicy orange and dark, fragrant chocolate with a heart of vanilla and wood.

Directly out of the tin it smells exactly like a Terry’s Chocolate Orange. After a few minutes, however, the scent begins to mellow and change into something extraordinary. A little incense, a little tobacco, a little mystery.

Cleo is described as

It’s all about the duality.

Cleo is an amazing combination of the blackest berries, sweetest spices, palest musks, and darkest woods. It’s floral, fruity and a bit sinful at the same time. It opens up very sweet and gradually the spices emerge, followed by the woods. This perfume doesn’t mess around, and a little goes a long way.

Twas a leap of faith, ordering a FS of Cleo without having ever sampled TMTM’s perfumes before. But thanks to the reviews from the lovely ladies over at Chanty’s forum, I didn’t hesitate at all. I was looking for something feminine, sophisticated and yet playful without being frumpy. With just a hint at a darker side.

Cleo pretty much fits that description. It does open up sweetly and then reveals its hidden depths. I do enjoy the scent and how it develops. Suitable for special occasions and evenings, maybe not quite so for work unless you’re in a suit 🙂 It does go on strong but not as much as Sweet Anthem’s. The staying power of Cleo is fairly decent at about 5 – 6 hours.

Voix de Ville:

Succulent, juicy, ripe red apple soothed and darkened by black fruit, decadent florals and sensuous green.

I like to think of VdV as a touch of Eden with the serpent within. This applies overwhelmingly red apple and clean, before the darker, or should I say, more luxuriant notes come through. It does bring to mind Be Delicious for a moment but then develops into something else on a tangent. I like it and for me, suitable as an everyday or work perfume.

Lucy:

White-out! A melange of white, white, white. White musk, white sandal, vanilla bean, indian white amber and white pepper. But don’t worry. I’ve added enough black to keep it interesting. 🙂

I was expecting this to be sweet and kind of light going by the description, but not at all! I do get the white musk and sandalwood, along with the vanilla bean. It’s quite an amazing scent and something I’ve not tried before. I’m still undecided about getting a FS Lucy. Unless a good sale comes along. Suitable for daily wear. I’d also classify this as a warmer scent.

Annabelle:

ANNABELLE –

Very complex, but with key notes of buttery carnation, rich honey, and a bite of clove. Smoky and sweet.

This perfume was made at the request of a very special customer, in honor of her beloved grandmother. A part of the proceeds will be given to the American Cancer Society.

 

This is a rather luxe scent. Definitely getting the rich honey and carnation. It might come across as slightly cloying because of the notes. Smoky and sweet really describes it to a T. While it’s quite a scent that keeps making you sniff it, trying to figure out what it is about it, I’m not sure if this is me. Or a facet of me. It’s probably slightly too heavy for my liking or better reserved for the evening imho.

 

So how am I liking TMTM? I’d say pretty well, going by the perfume oils I’ve tried. They’re not quite like Sweet Anthem, where it can smell different in the vial and on the skin. TMTM stays more true and even on the dry-down, the scents don’t deviate too much from what you get initially. Which some prefer. I’d like to try Ursa next, since Cait described it as an aquatic floral (think OHWTO Mermaid?).

For my perfume needs, I can probably survive with just TMTM (for my darker moods) and Sweet Anthem 🙂 along with the occasional OHWTO.

~*Items reviewed purchased by me*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Indie Companies, Perfume & Scents, The Morbid The Merrier (TMTM) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

