Latherati Soap Foundary 2nd EtsyVersary Purchase

Nothing like a sale to break the best of my no-buy intentions. Latherati Soap Foundary celebrated their 2nd EtsyVersary with a 20% off and I joined in the celebrations with a purchase 😀

 

More yummy scents!

My 2nd purchase arrived the next day after I received my 1st purchase, despite being placed about 4 – 6 days later!

Well packed

I received the exact same samples as my first purchase – a slice of Tara soap and Blossom solid scent (which I’ve gifted to a friend yesterday).

The 4oz plastic jar of Alter Ego Dr Jekyll body cream arrived dented at the base, probably from being thrown around whilst in transit. Not a biggie for me. Although not shrinkwrapped, there was no spillage at all. I liked opening the bubblepac to smell the fragrance of Beguile wafting through its tin.

Beguile is a d/c solid perfume that retailed at USD$7 and described as herbaceous rosemary, soothing lavender and a touch of spearmint. Comes in a 0.5 oz screw top tin.

(I love this! It’s really soothing without too much lavender although the mint is the strongest note that comes through. I’ve kept my B&B items in large box and when I open my box, Beguile’s notes reach my nose even through the metal tin.)

Secrets is a LE perfume in a 9ml roll on tube. USD$7.

New LIMITED EDITION scent. Inspired by the Latherati blog “Delicious Autumn!” Challenge, this is one of two winning “book” scents.

THE SCENT: Secrets – rich, hot cocoa mingled with lemon & ginger, intertwined with orange blossom and jasmine. The florals hit you first, then mellow to smooth chocolate

THE INSPIRATION: The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

THE QUOTE: “A good story is always more dazzling than a broken piece of truth.” – The Thirteenth Tale

(I love this. On me, the cocoa comes though the strongest when applied. The scent then morphs to reveal the other tones about 15 minutes later, with the ginger staying the most muted. After about 2 hours, only a pleasant cocoa whiff remains. As a chocolate lover, how could I NOT like this?)

Isle of Skye roll-on perfume, 9ml, USD$7.

Convenient and portable roll-on perfume glides on easily and leaves a silky feel to your skin – the perfect way to enjoy your favorite Latherati fragrance!THE SCENT: Isle of Skye – fresh, salty ocean air mingled with sweet pearsTHE INSPIRATION: To the Lighthouse by Virginia WoolfTHE QUOTE: “The autumn trees gleam in the yellow moonlight, in the light of the harvest moons, the light which mellows the energy of labour, and smooths the stubble, and brings the waves lapping blue to the shore.” – To the Lighthouse

THE INGREDIENTS: cyclomethicone, fragrance

(This is the lightest scent out of the entire lot here and a very pleasant one, with more ocean air than pear. Somehow, the slight sweetness of the pear note does bring out the ocean and to tone down the salt, if any. I like this too and it’s probably a scent that’d be universally liked, especially by those that detest strong fragrances.)

White and light

Alter Ego Dr Jekyll Body Cream, 4 oz, USD$8

Need a thicker, richer cream for that winter-dry skin? Or just have some rough spots, like elbows, knees and feet?

Latherati’s new Body Cream is chock full of rich mango and shea butters, along with moisturizing avocado oil, jojoba oil, fractionated coconut oil and glycerin. Rich and creamy, it absorbs quickly into your skin. Scented with your favorite Latherati fragrances.

THE SCENT: Alter Ego “Dr. Jekyll” version – light and airy with ozone & sea spray notes intermingled with linden blossom

*** Note: Alter Ego has two scents! “good” Dr. Jekyll and “evil” Mr. Hyde…get both and try layering them! ***

THE INSPIRATION: Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

THE QUOTE: “‘O God!’ I screamed, and ‘O God!’ again and again; for there before my eyes–pale and shaken, and half fainting, and groping before him with his hands, like a man restored from death–there stood Henry Jekyll!”
– Robert Louis Stevenson, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

INGREDIENTS: distilled water, vegetable glycerin, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter) fruit, mangifera indica (mango) seed butter, cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, emulsifying wax NF, persea gratissima (avocado) oil, simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil, caprylic/capric triglyceride, stearic acid, phenoxyethanol and caprylyl glycol, fragrance

(Although it says cream, I find the texture to be just slightly more viscous than a lotion. It goes on very light and absorbs quite easily. I love this, especially with the tropical weather here. The scent is awesome with a light floral note that isn’t too cloyingly sweet. If I had to choose between Isle of Skye, The Cobb and Dr Jekyll, I’d spring for Dr Jekyll. I really like it as a body cream as well. Dr. J is a scent I’d considering re-purchasing to wear as a perfume.

These will probably last me for sometime

So that’s my current stash of Latherati which I’m pretty happy with for now. While Latherati’s scents don’t last as long as several solid/roll-on perfumes from Etsy that I’ve purchased recently (about 3 – 4 hours max, with the solid scents stronger on me than the roll-ons), if you like lighter and well layered notes instead of heavier scents, Latherati is bound to have something suitable for you.

~*Items reviewed above purchased by me*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Etsy, Indie Companies, Latherati Soap Foundry, Perfume & Scents and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

