My Favourite Pink Lipstick: Avon Ultra Color Rich 24k Gold Lipstick in 24k Pink (d/c colour)

 Pink lipsticks for me were almost always a definite no, since they usually served to emphasise the yellow sallowness of my skin (I’m Chinese!) and the yellow of my teeth too 😉

Also, since my skintone is on the warm rather than cool side, pinks just looked ghastly for some reason. Though I absolutely love pink sarongs and t-shirts. Just not on my lips.

Until I discovered the… Avon Ultra Color Rich 24k Gold Lipstick in 24k Pink. It just has to be a discontinued shade too.

Classy gold bullet

This is my first Avon lipstick, which for a budget label, surprised me with its sturdy matte gold casing.

Avon’s an American label that doesn’t retail locally in Singapore, as far as I’m aware of.  This lipstick was purchased new and sealed off Ebay, of course. The international shipping was worth it 😉

 

Ingredients (found online):
DIISOPROPYL DIMER DILINOLEATE, POLYGLYCERYL-2 DIISOSTEARATE, LANOLIN, ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, ISOPROPYL ISOSTEARATE, STEARYL/PPG-3 MYRISTYL ETHER DIMER DILINOLEATE, SUCROSE ACETATE ISOBUTYRATE, CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE, OZOKERITE, MICROCRYSTALLINE WAX/CIRE MICROCRISTALLINE, PETROLATUM, BARIUM SULFATE, BENZOPHENONE-3, POLYETHYLENE, POLYMETHYLSILSESQUIOXANE, SILICA, PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, GOLD, ASCORBYL PALMITATE, BETA-CAROTENE, ALLANTOIN, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, RETINYL PALMITATE, HYDROLYZED SILK, WATER/EAU, SIMMONDSIA CHINENSIS (JOJOBA) SEED OIL
PERFLUORONONYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, CHOLESTERYL/BEHENYL/OCTYLDODECYL, LAUROYL GLUTAMATE, ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE, TIN OXIDE, ETHYLENE/PROPYLENE/STYRENE COPOLYMER, ALLYL METHACRYLATES CROSSPOLYMER, POLYETHYLENE TEREPHTHALATE, LECITHIN, C12-15 ALKYL BENZOATE, HYDROXYETHYL UREA, BUTYLENE/ETHYLENE/STYRENE COPOLYMER, PENTYLENE GLYCOL, TAMARINDUS INDICA SEED EXTRACT, UREA, PARFUM/FRAGRANCE

MAY CONTAIN: MICA/CI 77019, TITANIUM DIOXIDE/CI 77891, IRON OXIDES, D&C RED NO.7 CALCIUM LAKE, RED 33 LAKE/CI 17200, RED 6/CI 15850, YELLOW 5 LAKE/CI 19140, BLUE 1 LAKE/CI 42090, RED 6 LAKE/CI 15850, YELLOW 6 LAKE/CI 15985
BISMUTH OXYCHLORIDE/CI 77163, CARMINE/CI 75470, MANGANESE VIOLET/CI 77742, ORANGE 5/CI 45370, RED 21/CI 45380, RED 22 LAKE/CI 45380, RED 27 LAKE/CI 45410, RED 28 LAKE/CI 45410, RED 30 LAKE/CI 73360, RED 36/CI 12085, YELLOW 10 LAKE/CI 47005, RED 40 LAKE/CI 16035

Lovely pink and gold

Even the inner casing has AVON inscribed on it, tres class. Not a lot of lipstick but for a < USD$10 lipstick, I’m not complaining.

See how the gold glitter warms up the pink? This is scented with something that strikes me as a floral crossed with watermelon. I guess a fresh, nondescript floral would be most apt, according to my nose. I don’t get whiffs of this when the lipstick is on my lips, so that’s not a problem for me.

It’s not a pigmented lipstick by any means, but the colour payoff is decent and somewhat buildable. Touted to contain 24k gold, they certainly didn’t stinge on the gold shimmers.

I really like this pairing of a soft, cool-neutral pink and plenty of gold shimmer. It warms up the pink to a very wearable and flattering shade. The gold shimmer also adds dimension and doesn’t come across as OTT, as it’s not in large flecks. I’d certainly wear this to work and not get stares.

It’s a really sweet and fresh shade. One that I like a lot. It doesn’t last quite as long as matte lipsticks but that’s not a problem for me. While not as moisturising as the lip colours from Indie companies made with more oils and moisture-rich ingredients, this doesn’t dry my lips out and I don’t need to have a balm under.

Rating out of 10
 Price: 7 (inflated Ebay price, although Avon is very inexpensive)
Quality: 9 (Gorgeous shade, finish, shimmer and they all go well together. Applies smoothly, glitter has some texture but not too gritty.)
Packaging: 10 (Pure class)
Ease of usage: 9 (lovely semi-sheer shade that glides on smoothly)
Overall score:  8.8
 
~*Item reviewed purchased by me*~
About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Avon, Lip Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

