Darling Girl Cosmetics Mineral Makeup Review

My first order from this new-ish Indie mineral makeup company was way back in October 2010. I have just made another order last week on the Holo-glosses and will review those in a later blog entry.

This is a review for the items from last October 🙂

The items can be found at http://darlinggirlcosmetics.ecrater.com/ and Susan the owner’s blog at http://darlinggirlcosmetics.blogspot.com/ 
It’s a one-woman show and Susan does custom orders/shades too.

What I really like about her stuff are the 60 cent eyeshadow samples and back then, sample pods of the lip colours too. Susan also offers her lip stuff in 2 formulas, one without shea butter, to cater to ladies who might have allergies.

Shipping was a very reasonable US$2.50

Candy Corn Lip Balm ♥ Limited Edition: 1 x $3.50 = $3.50
Pillage ♥ Darling Girl Cosmetics Eye Shadow: 1 x $0.60 = $0.60
Falling Leaves ♥ Darling Girl Cosmetics Eye Shadow: 1 x $0.60 = $0.60 Sand Castle ♥ Darling Girl Cosmetics Eye Shadow: 1 x $0.60 = $0.60 Grotto ♥ Darling Girl Cosmetics Eye Shadow: 1 x $0.60 = $0.60
Sample ♥ Kiss Me Tinted Lip Balm: 3 x $1.85 = $5.55
Sales Tax: $0.00
Shipping: $2.50 (Regular Singapore)
Total: $13.95

Tinted Lip Balm Samples:
1. Georgia Formula 1
2. Hot Toddy Formula 2
3. Racey Raspberry Formula 2

(all photos can be viewed in their original sizes by clicking on them)

Halloween themed

Basic and functional with minimal frills.

My actual order sans free samples

Mostly yellow and neutral shades

Lip stuff

These sample pods contain a LOT of lip product. Will probably last at least a week if not more.

Swatched on my underarm

Thoughts & personal comments:
Shipping turnaround was very fast, around 2 days IIRC, with Susan dropping an email to inform that the items had been shipped.

The ES samples are generously sized at 60ct each, which I really think all online makeup companies should offer (Hint, SN!).

My ES favourites are Autumn Leaves, Harvest Moon and Pillage. The first 2 because I’m on a neutral kick and I’m really happy that Pillage shows up very well on my skin and eyelid. I’ve been looking for something yellow or chartreuse enough to show up on my medium-tanned skin and I plan to pair Pillage and Grotto together, since I don’t do too many colours all at once on my small eyes. Joppa’s Majestic (yellow) absolutely failed to show up on my skintone at all.

A bit of nostalgia, but Resolute reminds me of my very first Revlon ES that was a shimmer bronze in shade that I really liked. It also shows up swatched on my skin somewhat richer brown and darker than on DG’s site (http://darlinggirlcosmetics.ecrater….-cosmetics-eye), although her written description is true – a BEAUTIFUL Copper Brown with metallic twinkle. Good for outer Vs.

I think Sand Castle might have been the only matte shade I included in my order. I’m a bit blah about it.

They go on very smoothly on the eyelids and are definitely more pigmented than SN and Joppa ES. Just a little shows up well enough, even without any primer used (currently sporting Pillage & Grotto on my left eye and Harvest Moon, Resolute, Falling Leaves and Sand Castle on the right). There’s also no shimmer or sparkle fallout to clean up after application. Blending seems to be a breeze.

The Candy Corn lipbalm is in a slimline tube (which I prefer to normal sized tubes) and smells milky sweet, somewhat like the White Rabbit sweets we get here. The stevia used is also obvious as I keep licking my lips to taste it  

There’s supposed to be a hint of orange pearl which I can’t really discern either in the tube or on my lips. While it applies very moisturisingly and smoothly on the lips with a nice clear gloss, I think the formula is somewhat too soft for our tropical weather, so don’t twist out too much to apply. It’s also good that there’s no ueber waxy feel to it. Ingredients as below.

(Castor Seed Oil, Cetyl Stearyl Alcohol, Olive Fruit Oil, Beeswax, Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Glycine Soybean Lipds, Lauryl Laurate, Carnauba Wax, Candillia Wax. Hydrogenated Polyisobutene (and) Ethylene/Propylene/Styrene Copolymer (and) Butylene/Ethylene/Styrene Copolymer, Grapeseed Oil, Avacado Oil, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxide)

Gorgeous Georgia

“Georgia ♥ The color or a georgia peach with some subtle silvery pearl finish.”
This is a shade I think would work very well on fair girls and not-so-pigmented lips. It gives a nice, healthy flush. Pairs well with SN’s Lovelace or Satisfied blush.

Hot hot hot Toddy

“Hot Toddy ♥ Is part of the Autumn Nostalgia collection and is a gorgeous deep burgundy leaning a little plum with golden shimmers.”

This is a colour that surprised me, in a good way. I think it suits my skintone and lips as an “autumn” shade. The golden shimmer particles are very subtle and complement the yellow in my complexion. Plum shades generally don’t work for me and only serve to “age” me, but I think the burgundy depth in this helps a lot and makes it flattering instead. It should pair very well with the Carnal blush I have from SN, which I don’t really have an appropriate lippie for! Or with darker berry blushes

I’ll leave the ratings for my next DG order review with full sized items. Till then!

*Items reviewed purchased by me*

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Darling Girl Cosmetics, Eyeshadow, Lip Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

