Hand Care: Epically Epic Soap Co. Midnight & I Love Lychee Solid Lotions

Here’s a continuation of my review of my 1st Epically Epic Soap Co. Purchase.

Products are available at http://www.etsy.com/shop/EpicallyEpicSoap#

On review today are 2 solid lotions. These are in the 0.25 oz aluminium tins sold as a sampler set of 5 for US$12. The full sized tins are 2 oz at US$6.50 with a jumbo 8 oz at US$18.

This is what Allison says of her solid lotions:
Solid lotions have a different feel than the water-based lotions you may be used to. They are long-lasting moisturizers, somewhat like body butters or salves. Although they feel slightly oily when you first apply them, just give them a few minutes and they will absorb while leaving a thin layer that helps protect your skin from cold, dry air. They even last through a few hand-washings. Try a small amount at first – a little goes a long way!

I’ve found so many uses for these lotions. Here are a few suggestions:

Hand cream
Body Lotion
Solid Perfume
Cuticle Butter
Massage Oil
Foot Salve
Neck Cream
Say goodbye forever to those mass-produced lotions and their mysterious ingredients. I love solid lotions because, since there is no water added, they don’t require any chemical preservatives. They also come in cute portable tins that are 100% reusable and recyclable. No plastic bottles!

Epically Epic’s solid lotions are made with natural plant oils which are easily absorbed and are nourishing to your skin.

100% VEGAN INGREDIENTS: Macadamia Butter, Candellila Wax, Olive Squalane, Fragrance, Seaweed Extract, Vitamin E, Mineral Colorant.


(all photos can be viewed in their original sizes by clicking on them)

Midnight in Blue & I Love Lychee (who doesn't?) in girly pink

Quoted from Epically Epic:
MIDNIGHT ~ The mysterious, spicy-floral scent of Sandalwood and Jasmine essential oils. An alluring fragrance for a night out.
I LOVE LYCHEE ~ It is difficult to describe the scent of the South Asian lychee fruit, but once you try it you will never forget its delicate, dewy fragrance. It’s my favorite fruit scent ever!

The most tinted solid lotion among the 5 - Midnight

 

I’ve already written on my thoughts on Midnight in a previous entry (https://lipglossfiend.wordpress.com/2011/05/14/epically-epic-soap-company-etsy/) so I shan’t continue here.
I Love Lychee, yes indeed! It’s probably the closest scent you can get to the real fruit when it’s out of season. It is *slightly* synthetic with a light floral note, but that’s only to be expected as Lychee’s a difficult scent to clone. Nevertheless, it is pleasant enough. I’ve placed an order for an 8 oz tin coming my way, along with 3 more lip balms.
As I Love Lychee is tinted pink, it doesn’t show up on my skin. However, Midnight, being blue and probably the most pigmented among the 5 solid lotion sampler tins I have, does show up blue when you slap it on 🙂 Both feel about the same and moisturise the same. They’re easy to get out of the tin (this is Singapore weather, yours might not feel the same if you’re in a colder climate) and can be used all over the body. I’ve tried it on the rough patches on my ankles and it does the job pretty well. Although I save them mostly for my hands.

Slight glistening sheen before you rub it in

This is how it looks when a blob is spread out, but before rubbing it in. Certainly looks moisturising, doesn’t it?

Rubbed in

 
 
Gets absorbed very quickly by the skin after a few strokes. This does moisturise decently. However, I could categorise this as a light – medium moisturiser that does what it’s supposed to do very well in the Tropics. It *might* not be sufficiently rich enough for colder and drier climates. The scent lingers on strong for a couple of minutes before muting down. Not to be used as a solid perfume, but pleasant aromatherapy for a little while at least.

Here’re my separate ratings for the Midnight and I Love Lychee Solid Lotions.

Midnight
Rating out of 10
Price: 8
Quality: 6 (because of the scent)
Packaging: 7 (the small tin can be a tad hard to open at times owing to its size, but the big ones shouldn’t pose a problem)
Ease of usage: 10 (I like how it gets absorbed so quickly)
Overall score: 7.8
  
I Love Lychee
Rating out of 10
Price: 8
Quality: 9.5
Packaging: 7 (the small tin can be a tad hard to open at times owing to its size, but the big ones shouldn’t pose a problem)
Ease of usage: 10 (I like how it gets absorbed so quickly)
Overall score: 8.6
*Items reviewed purchased by me*
About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Epically Epic Soap Co., Hand Care, Solid Lotions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

