All About Lips: Silk Naturals Dixie Lip Stain

Silk Naturals (www.silknaturals.com), one of my favourite Indie Mineral Makeup Companies, recently released 4 lip stains. Having last tried a lip stain probably a decade ago, I couldn’t resist grabbing one in my latest haul. At US$4.50, what was there not to grab? 🙂

(all photos can be viewed in their original sizes by clicking on them)

Silk Naturals on Dixie Lip Stain which is listed as a Peach Lip Stain:

Dixie is a warm red lip stain.  One coat is a pretty peach- more coats deepen the color to a brick red.  Great for warmer skin tones, and wonderful for layering.
Ingredients:  Water, Sorbitol, Sodium Carbomer, Gluconoactone, and Sodium Benzoate, FD&C color
These come packaged in 3.5 ml wands with doe-foot applicators.
Vegan & Gluten Free

 

Item & Skin Swatch

 Unscented, this is pretty easy to use with the doe foot applicator, although some of it gets onto the rest of the wand above the flocked sponge. It’s not an issue for me but several ladies on the forum have mentioned that. I like it sheered out with my finger tip. I dot a few light blobs in the middle of my lips and use my pinkie to rub it evenly onto my upper and lower lips. It goes on very sheer and reddens after a couple of minutes. Please refrain from licking your lips while the coat is drying – it is slightly bitter tasting.

It’s very watery which doesn’t dry up straight away. I like that, since you can take a bit of time to even it out nicely.

Looks pretty natural, doesn't it? Enhances my natural lip shade.

This is how it looks with 1 very sheer shade. The photo was taken AFTER dinner and an ice cream, so a bit of it did come off. But still decent considering just a couple of dots were spread around on my lips.

2 full coats of Dixie and topped with Creampuff Amplifying Lip Glaze
This is how it looks with 2 full coats on and topped off with a sheer but sparkly Silk Naturals Amplifying Lip Glaze in Creampuff. More Va Va Voom, don’t you think? 🙂 Tip: Do let the coats dry well inbetween each application.
 
The stain lasted me pretty well till the next morning when I woke up and was still present after brushing my teeth, though somewhat faded.
 
For the price, quality, longevity and ease of usage, I plan to grab a couple more in the other shades to try them sheered out. This is great as a base and to play around with other sheerer shades atop.
 
Interested? Pick it up here today:
 
Rating out of 10:
Price: 10
Quality: 8
Packaging: 7
Ease of usage: 8
Overall score: 8.5
 
*Item reviewed purchased by me*
About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Lip Stuff, Silk Naturals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

