Sunscreen Review: Boots Soltan Baby Suncare Lotion SPF 50 (Yes, you’re THE ONE)

Meet the new sunscreen love of my love – the Boots Soltan Baby Hypoallergenic Suncare Lotion SPF 50. The search is almost over… if I were living in the UK.

Erm nope, I’m not in the family way, but this works just plain AWESOME and hey, why should the best be reserved for just babies? :P

This 200ml huge squeeze tube of sunscreen is found in Boots drugstores in the UK for just 8.99 GBP. Is that affordable or WHAT?

It’s a chemical sunscreen, btw. Avobenzone and Octocrylene based.

This came highly recommended by Chiaberry of the Cozycot forums and since I had family heading to the UK in January, I asked/begged/implored them to carry back a couple of tubes for me.

The benefits, taken off Boots’ website, claim to:

Benefits

  • Water resistant
  • Specially formulated for babies’ vulnerable skin
  • Dermatologically tested
  • Hypoallergenic
  • No colour, no alcohol
  • Includes patented antioxidant complex to help protect against long-term skin damage

The largest draws for me are the no colour/no alcohol and water resistant claims.

Ingredients are

Aqua, C12-15 alkyl benzoate, Octocrylene, Butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane, , Butylene glycol, Tridecyl salicylate, , Methylene bis-benzotriazolyl tetramethylbutylphenol, , Polyglyceryl-3 methylglucose distearate, Dimethicone, PVP/eicosene copolymer, , Bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine, Tribehenin, , Diethylhexyl butamido triazone, Phenoxyethanol, Decyl glucoside, , Ethylhexyl salicylate, Potassium cetyl phosphate, Caprylyl glycol, , Methylparaben, Butyrospermum parkii butter, Tocopheryl acetate, Ethylparaben, , Ethylhexylglycerin, Vitis vinifera seed oil, , Acrylates/vinyl isodecanoate crosspolymer, Glycerin, Tetrasodium EDTA, , Potassium hydroxide, Propylene glycol, Aloe barbadensis leaf juice powder, , Xanthan gum, Panax ginseng extract, Sodium ascorbyl phosphate

It’s an avobenzone sunscreen with octocrylene, so isn’t SPF-makeup compatible (octinoxate is found in many SPF makeup items and is incompatible with avobenzone. Technically, octocrylene would help to stabilise the 2, but then, how’d you know and at what amounts?). There is a light, fresh-smelling fragrance to the SPF lotion, which doesn’t exactly put me off, but it is noticeable.

The texture is as named, that of a lotion, very light and white in shade. When I first saw it, I was concerned about a possible white cast, but was proven wrong.

As you can see, it’s liquid-y enough to spread around easily.

I really enjoy using this sunscreen, because:
(a) there is NO WHITE CAST
(b) there is no overly greasy look to it after being absorbed (I can comfortably go barefaced with just the suncare lotion and no powder)
(c) doesn’t take much work to work this into my skin
(d) is water-resistant, as proven in the pool
(e) does not run into my eyes nor irritate them. Safe for undereye and eyelid areas!
(f) very economical with a huge 200ml squeeze tube that can be used for face and body
(g) it’s moisturising but not overly so. Good for dehydrated skins. However, very dry skins might require a moisturiser before applying this sunblock. But it works fine as the final step for me, over my serums.
(h) I did not get burnt at the pool after an hour of swimming and about 2 hours of baking, though I did get darker (as I wanted to be). I did reapply after my laps in the pool.
(i) does not cause foundation to pill/pile

2 drawbacks to this
(a) Only available in the UK (not sure about the Boots pharmacies in Thailand)
(b) There is no expiry date (so don’t overstock on this. The use-by date is 18 months after opening)

I really very HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS if you swing by the UK or are in the UK. It’s the ONE suncare lotion you need in your life that works on every part and at a great value too. Don’t walk, RUN to the stores and get a couple of tubes when there’s a BOGO sale!

~*Item reviewed was purchased by me*~

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in Boots, Drugstore Labels, Soltan, Sunscreen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunscreen Review: Boots Soltan Baby Suncare Lotion SPF 50 (Yes, you’re THE ONE)

  1. APL says:

    I was contemplating which Soltan sunscreen to get after being advised by my friend. And thank God I stumblep upon this article. :)

    I just want to add, that aside of Octocrylene and Avobenzone, this sunscreen also has Tinosorb M, Tinosorb S, and Uvasorb. So, it IS a great sunscreen afterall!

    • It is indeed! I’ve not gotten burnt since using this and have gotten fairer… in spite of the occasional day at sea under the sun!

      • APL says:

        Boots in NL is running BOGO sale for Soltan (and get free aftersun lotion for every s/s purchased in-store), so I got a couple since I have a Greece trip coming up. EUR15 for 2 bottle of 200ml!

        I tested it going out, applying a proper 1/4tsp-full on the face alone. Although, as expected, I looked like I painted my face in white paint, a little bit of rubbing took care of it and whitecast at all! It’s all tacky and shiny, of course, but nothing SN ULTP and/or Lucy Minerals Original can’t take care of!

        I was REALLY glad I stumbled upon your post on the product! It’s cheap, has amazing protection, almost cosmetically good (which for me is good enough bcs it helps give Lucy a dewy finish!). Thanks Aud!!!

      • The 200ml bottle lasts and lasts! Yup it is slightly shiny/tacky but not something unbearable from experience. It’s moisturising enough that I don’t even layer on any serum or eye cream under the sunblock! Enjoy your holidays :)

Leave a Reply

