Green Online Pursuits in 2011

2011 has been, well, another year. With challenges, changes, uncertainties, mal y bien and like any other year, memorable for a host of reasons, both good and bad. The Yin to my Yang. The Craig to my Bellamy (taken off the Newport parody of Empire State of Mind – YOUTUBE IT). Without digressing further, since this is an online blog on makeup and skincare, let’s talk about how 2011 has been for me on this front.

While I had no luck at striking the lottery (except for $30 just once, ever, in my entire life – also in 2011), I’ve enjoyed myself taking part in online contests on websites, blogs and facebook.

In April/May 2011, I took part in Watson’s Facebook contest for Avalon Organics’ products and won myself a handful products from the Avalon Organics Lavender Skincare available at Watson’s. I’ve actually given away the products to my mum and my neighbour (who always buys me cheesecakes and other snacks :)) so I don’t quite remember what they were. No photos as well as that pre-dated my blogging days.

Sometime in November, while taking part in Vivawoman’s Green Beauty Contest (blogged about here), I also took part in Naturelova‘s contest on Facebook while reading up on them and surfing their online store (which is pretty extensive). That contest scored me this Madara toner :)

Yet to be used, so to be reviewed at a later date.

And then, just before Christmas, Sesame of Vivawoman announced the winners of the Green Beauty Contest and……

And Thank YOU too!

Erm no, the sweet note wasn’t all that I got :P

But…TADAH!

I guess I got third time lucky, to round up 2011 :)

Sesame had her hubby drop off the goodie bag at my place while I was at work, so I didn’t have the chance to say thank you in person. I like the green/eco themed paper bag, such a lovely and befitting theme to the kindly sponsored prizes and her blog (which I’ve been reading for a couple of years iirc and no, not solely because of the contests, I insist!).

If you’re wondering why the bag is crushed somewhat, please blame it on the fella in the photo below.

El Rascal (who remains much loved, nevertheless!)

The contents were all safely ensconced in secure bubble wrap, so no damage was done.

Thanks to the 13 sponsors, the prizes included very, many items that aren’t readily available in Singapore. Which means I’ve never tried most of them for some reason or another (price, international shipping, unfavourable exchange rate etc. etc.) or just never knew about.

From Kelly Edwards:

Cleanser, Exfoliating Cream, Balancing Moisturiser, Red Clay Mask, May Chang Hand Cream, and Mandarin Lip Balm

Kelly Edwards’ a UK label that I’ve read about a couple of times on Sesame’s blog but have yet to try. I’m particularly interested in the May Chang hand cream and these generous sample sizes (with the exception of the lip balm which is full sized, I believe) will come in useful at the gym or for a short holiday or work trip. The items come in a lovely gift box.

From Botani:
Olive Skin Serum and Soothing Facial Mist

These 2 full sized items geared towards facial hydration came in a navy blue pouch and a pamphlet on Botani’s products and ethos. It’s an Australian skincare label and to be honest, beyond sunscreens and probably emu oil creams a long long time ago, I can’t remember a single Aussie skincare product I’ve tried.

From 365 Days:
Lady Bug Diffuser

This is really cute and instead of fugly reed sticks, you get a stylish leaf to do the scenting job :)  Once I clear out my work table, this will be on it in a jiffy for jasmine ylang ylang scented goodness! For photos of how this would look assembled, as well as places to purchase this modern scent diffuser, check out Sesame’s blog entry http://www.vivawoman.net/2011/11/22/green-beauty-new-ways-to-enjoy-aromatherapy/

From iMO Straps:
Handmade Camera Strap

A funky orange striped camera strap that’s padded at the neck area for comfort. To go with my new Canon G 12 :) iMO, the iMO strap is very well sewn with no uneven stitches and the fabric feels sturdy and of good quality.

From Bud Cosmetics:
Logona Rose Cleansing Milk
Logona Nettles Shampoo
Logona Organic Rose Hydrating Mask
Logona samples

I’ve been to Bud’s Novena Square 2’s store a few times, mostly to browse and on the sale occasion, to get a few marked down items. Several of the Logona products here will be passed to my colleagues :)

From Living Nature:
Nourishing Hand & Body Cream and Balancing Day Lotion

Living Nature’s a New Zealand label that has a presence in Singapore at Eastpoint Mall, so do check out the link above. I’ve definitely not tried any skincare from NZ.

From Pure Tincture:
Suki Exfoliating Foaming Cleanser

This 100% natural product is a winner of the Cozycot 2011 Holy Grail product with natural AHA and just in time as I’m running out of my microdermabrasion scrub, which will be replaced by this =)

The Mukti Honey & Macadamia Lip Balm is from Bud’s as well and what can I say? Can I do with more lipbalms? That’s a YES! To be reserved for before bedtime.

From Mrnmrsfab.com:
Store Bag Store eco-friendly bag

This handy foldable eco-friendly bag will be seeing much use at my office, when I dash down to grab a late chow at the supermarket below.

From Marie Veronique Organics:
Anti-Aging Body Oil

Another US brand that I first read about on Vivawoman.net sometime ago. Known for its physical sunscreens and yes, i guess it’s about time I started being serious about anti-aging for the body, not just the face!

From Scotch Naturals:
Nail Polish in Tartan Black
Nail Polish Remover

Tartan Black is a gunmetal black with subtle shimmer. I plan on gifting this to my friend’s 4 year old daughter who likes all things pretty and it’s never too young to be edgy ;)

Hopscotch Kids™ WaterColors is the premier non-toxic, kid-friendly alternative to solvent-based nail polish. Our water-based formula is free of the harsh, smelly chemicals that most nail polishes contain, helping condition your little one’s nails with long-lasting, salon quality vibrant color. Hopscotch Kids is free of toluene, dibutyl phthalate, formaldehyde, nitrocellulose, butyl and ethyl acetates, acetone, FD&C, coal tar and lake colors.

From NatureLOVA:
Jo Wood Organics Tula Cleansing Body Mousse

Same generous sponsor of the Madara toner featured earlier in this blog post. I’ve not tried a cleansing body mousse before, so let’s see how this works.

From Sweetsation Therapy:
Lumi*Essence Organic Advanced Brightening Repair Treatment and I*Light eye cream

Also an organic skincare label from the US I’ve not heard of until I read about it on Vivawoman.net. They have some real funny pun-ny names for their products and these are 2 full sized items I’m looking forward to trying. Especially the Repair Treatment, which is geared towards normal-dry skin, which might be great for daytime usage for me.

From Zuii Organic:
Grapefruit Blush

Zuii Organic is another Australian label I first read about on Vivawoman and seen at Bud’s. Blushers, I’ve got plenty. But who cares, no big deal… I want more (sang in Ariel-wannabe style). This would be my first organic blusher and I’d like to see how this compares to the conventional ones, as well as loose mineral blushers. Retailing at AU$28.95 online, I’m chuffed to get this as part of the contest giveaway too!

So here’s wishing all of you a Happy 2012 ahead and may it be bigger, brighter and happier than the preceding years.

ETA: Oh and I forgot, there was an unexpected $10 Silk Naturals online voucher from their Facebook contest in August that I won at random :D

About lipglossfiend

Lipgloss, Makeup galore and other yummy goodies by the score :)
This entry was posted in 365 Days, Anti-Ageing, Bath & Body, Blog Giveaway, Blusher, Botani, Bud Cosmetics, Cheeky, Facial Wash, Giveaways, Hand Care, iMO Straps, Jo Wood, Kelly Edwards, Living Nature, Logona, Madara, Marie Veronique Organics, Moisturisers, Mrnmrsfab.com, Naturelova, Perfume & Scents, Pure Tincture, Scotch Naturals, Silk Naturals, Skincare, Suki, Sweetsation Therapy, Zuii Organic. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Green Online Pursuits in 2011

  1. LT says:

    *faints* ^_^

    that is a whole lotta contest wins! 2011 was your lucky year!

    it was mine too cuz I won your contest! ^_^ and bytheway, I love them all! thank you.

    • Yay, you got it! I’m so sorry I forgot to slip a note and some extras in. I usually do that, but that was such a hectic time at work I just forgot, when I packed it up late at night.

  2. sesame says:

    Wow, you’re one fortunate girl when it comes to beauty! Btw, Madara’s stuff are quite nice. Love the scent

  3. sesame says:

    Oops. Forgot I wanted to wish you A Happy New Year! All the best and may you enjoy more beauty goodies in 2012!

  4. Kookith says:

    Wow you lucky thing! Happy New Year Aud!

  5. This is a great post; it was very informative. I look forward in reading more of your work. Thank you for sharing your information!!

Leave a Reply

